1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why is the only way to start my phone by pulling out battery then replacing it

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HorsesSoul, Aug 18, 2017.

  1. HorsesSoul

    HorsesSoul Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017

    Aug 18, 2017
    4
    0
    15
    I've had this phone quite awhile. It just started being a nuisance a couple days ago...
    If screen goes black into resting mode it seems to shut off completely (without all the usual graphics,etc). As long as it "stays awake" by playing a game or whatever it seems ok.
    But then when it shuts off the power button will not do anything.
    Sometimes it will power up by holding down volume down and power button but not always...
    The only way it will really come on is to pop out battery, put back in then power button works to turn phone on. But has to be done immediately or button won't work.
    I'm stumped. Can you please help me fix my phone? Does anyone else have this problem?
    Thankyou!
     

    Advertisement

  2. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,639
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,639
    8,289
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    Ok.. this isn't a solution to your problem... just a quick reminder to make sure you've got backups of all the data/documents/photos/messages/phone numbers etc.... that you have on that device whilst its still working.

    I suspect that sooner or later, it isn't going to wake up... and then its a LOT harder to get anything back if you don't have it.

    (good luck with getting it fixed)
     
  3. BAYFISHER

    BAYFISHER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    241
    45
    53
    Male
    my guess is bootloader issue, either software or other needs either reflashed somehow by trusted techs, or deeper issues.
     
  4. HorsesSoul

    HorsesSoul Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017

    Aug 18, 2017
    4
    0
    15
    Thank you. I have a stupid question. I know I can write down all phone numbers etc but how do I backup other stuff? I don't have a pc.
     
  5. HorsesSoul

    HorsesSoul Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017

    Aug 18, 2017
    4
    0
    15
    Thank you. But to be honest I don't understand a word you said. Lol. I'm not very techy.
     
  6. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,639
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,639
    8,289
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    How to backup? thats Not a stupid question at all......
    without a pc, its a little trickier... but only a tiny bit... (and not really that teckie either)

    but you can sync all of your google contacts to the cloud (http://www.wikihow.com/Sync-Android-Contacts-With-Gmail)

    and photos
    https://support.google.com/photos/answer/6193313?co=GENIE.Platform=Android&hl=en

    you can copy documents etc to your google drive
    https://support.google.com/drive/answer/2424368?co=GENIE.Platform=Android&hl=en


    Make sure you have a record of your Facebook/google/other passwords written down somewhere.


    (its possible to do this without using google for example if you're a microsoft kinda guy you can use their services instead... I just used google to keep things simple)
     
  7. BAYFISHER

    BAYFISHER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    241
    45
    53
    Male
    start here https://www.ifixit.com/Wiki/Kyocera_Hydro_Vibe_Troubleshooting

    then try kyocera customer support http://www.kyoceramobile.com/

    then try your carrier if you bought it there, and im only primarily a NOTE 7 S7EDGE AND S8 PLUS OWNER WITH EXPERIENCE THERE ONLY.

    BASICALLY BOOTLOADER TELLS IT TO REBOOT BUT WHEN YOU GOTTA PULL BATTERY, SOFTWARES CORRUPT.
     
  8. BAYFISHER

    BAYFISHER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    241
    45
    53
    Male
    I CANT HELP WITH BACKUPS WITHOUT PC UNLESS YOU HAVE CLOUD ACCT OR DRIVE ON DEVICE.
     
  9. BAYFISHER

    BAYFISHER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    241
    45
    53
    Male
    im primarily an advanced user and a non professional tech with samsung and lg and some apple
     
  10. BAYFISHER

    BAYFISHER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    241
    45
    53
    Male
    lastly sometimes defective battery causes it too
     
  11. HorsesSoul

    HorsesSoul Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017

    Aug 18, 2017
    4
    0
    15
    Thank you both so very much for info. I really appreciate it :)
    I just wonder if it was a virus affecting this bootloader thing? I don't remember downloading anything.
    Again thanks so much. I don't have Google drive app. So I'm off to do that and try your other recommendations.
    :)
     
  12. BAYFISHER

    BAYFISHER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    241
    45
    53
    Male
    Once it starts to refuse to boot right, over time it might lock up and freeze. Soon or later, soon is better, get it to a tech or carrier, and see if they'll Reflash firmware to get system synchronized again. Also yes a fading battery can throw off the boot sequence. That's part is last to worry about..
     

Share This Page

Loading...