1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

why load custom rom if 2.1 is already rootable?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by msierra519, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    i'm just curious as to why everyone flashes one of the custom roms if they can finally have the official release rooted?

    cant we just use kitchen to remove the bloatware?

    just find it odd for people to post "yessss i finally rooted it and flashed fresh 2.1.2" couldnt you do that before? lol..

    just saying...

    *edit
    def not trying to be a jerk..its a sincere question
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    yes, you could just remove the bloatware from rooted 2.1.

    However, the custom 2.1's usually are optimized, run faster, and many are prepackaged with themes and various apps pre-installed. Some also have widgets that work that won't work with just rooted 2.1 (like friendstream)
     
  3. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Because the Devs are way better at sprint/HTC's job than Sprint/HTC. Their Roms may have small problems, but they are usually fixed quickly, and correctly. Sprint unloads a BS update, and calls it good enough.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...