1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why no root access on Android?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Shompol, May 1, 2009.

  1. Shompol

    Shompol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009

    Apr 30, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    programmmer
    New York City
    I am a little late with this one, but why does Android block root access, while I can do anything I like on my Windows Mobile device?
    Is it because Microsoft has more bargaining power or because they "forgot" to implement access privileges? :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndroidSocialMedia

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009

    I'm guessing Google just doesn't want to open up an advanced user tool to every single user. Here are the best instructions online for gaining root access:

    http://budurl.com/2z8w
     
  3. mmikeyy

    mmikeyy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008

    Dec 22, 2008
    19
    1
    16
    PHP Programmer
    It's pure and simply to stop people who aern't the most experienced with tech screwing their phones up, and to save themselves the hassle of telling customers that they won't get a replacement for messing with their phones.
     
  4. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009

    Mar 11, 2009
    296
    6
    36
    Seriously, if people had root right away there is no telling how many phone calls TMO would get about "oh my phone is broken send me a new one." Most likely had to be shipped as is per agreement with TMO.
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA

    I think about 10,000 of us G1 users recieved out phones with root access right out the box ... I Pre-Ordered mine the Day you could ... Got it Oct21...

    An we knew shortly after about acess and one of the early things was a way to move apps to the SD ... I never heard of any massive return of people messing their phone up and needing TMO help to recover.
     
  6. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    Really? I was watching the forums pretty closely(like hourly) here and at a couple other websites last winter and this is the first I've heard about anyone receiving a phone that was rooted out-of-the-box. I'm curious to know where you get the 10k figure, too.
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    I recall reading/hearing that 10,000 or more G1 Units were pre-sold ... I bought mine on, I think, it was Oct 11 or 12. These 10,000 units were shipped with (in my case RC27) this build and the first OTA update Rc29 both had the ability to gain access to the root directory and Files...

    I even made copies of all the apps I had prior to the hole being plugged.

    So technically speaking the phone wasn't rooted in that rooted would imply that an action was taken to the phone to make it "rooted" and this is not the case ... No action was performed!! It just came this way..

    For historical reference I had the linux commands to mount an Ext2 partition that first week of it's arrival, so the apps could be moved from the internal memory and stored on the sdcard ext2 partition.

    So if your point is pure English symantics, then the phone was not rooted.
    The phone arrived out of the box with root access by downloading a linux terminal app.
     
  8. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    No the point wasn't semantical. The only thing close that I heard of was there were commands left wired to the keyboard so that if you typed "reboot" while on the home screen, the phone would actually reboot itself, or something like that.
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    I quess that is possible but I never heard anything like that ... reboot I for as I knew was done with hardware key combinations .. like if you want to start the phone in safe mode you would hold the menu and touch the power ... continue holding menu until you would see "Safe Mode" on the desktop's screen in the lower left corner in faint type" this is a startup with no background programs running ... there are other key combinations to do other kinds of boots.
     
  10. ManLike

    ManLike Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009

    Jun 3, 2009
    57
    2
    16
    IMO it's because Windows privs are so messed up you can't to ANYTHING on a Windows box without Admin privs.

    Whereas with *nix you can actually limit people's access and still have things work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...