1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why NOT go fully unlimited?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by lightsleeper23, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. lightsleeper23

    lightsleeper23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    465
    92
    53
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    If these are my average speeds, and I were to go with the $70 unlimited plan, I might as well just use mobile data exclusively. Why not when it's much faster than my home Wi-Fi? And this is only with my HSPA+21 L9. I can't wait to see what I get with the N4.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    man your home wifi stinks
     
  3. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    Change to mpbs and maybe easier to see.

    You mean using your phone data for home internet on your computer?
     
  4. MT Rotor

    MT Rotor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    462
    45
    63
    How's the L9? Thinking about picking one up as a second device for my nexus 4
     
  5. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    im sure its feasible however i wouldnt recommend downloading large files while tethering
     
  6. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    Have you all get any upsell message? I have not been getting any of this. I dont do it too often though.
     
  7. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #76
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    for the first 2 days of my tmobile account my home internet was off I used it for everything. almost 1.7gbs data usage I now get the upsell message for adding tethering every time I tether.

    Which has only been twice since the home internet was fixed. both times where out away from home needed to look up something quick.

    but just using useragent fix takes care of it.
     
    chong67 likes this.
  8. lightsleeper23

    lightsleeper23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    465
    92
    53
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    No I just mean using it for my phone only, not tethering a home computer. Just not using my Wi-Fi. I don't know why the Wi-Fi isn't better. My Nexus 7 gets 15 to 20 Mbps on Wi-Fi, but none of our phones get that. Usually I get 7 to 8 though... comcast has been slow lately.

    And the L9 is amazing actually. Nice big bright screen. Fast. I've seen no lag at all on anything.. games are totally smooth. Battery lasts all day, like 18 or 19 hours, with 3 to 4 hours screen time, and still 20% or so left. It benchmarks above the galaxy nexus, and right about the same as the S2. I got 3062 on the benchmark test.
     
  9. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    Why am I not getting the upsell message? I only use about 7 hours of it last month.

    I am using IE browser too.

    I wonder it will catch up to me later?

    Yes I did read about the useragent plug in thing. Did you use it on the Chrome or Firefox?
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #76
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    firefox.
    I have tried chrome but I dont really like tabs showing all the time, if I open more tabs thats fine but just one open no thanks.
    a few other differences that I dont care much for as well but dont remember them.
    I think its the amount downloaded in a short time. possibly after my next bill it will reset.
     
  11. Joshb101

    Joshb101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    157
    27
    43
    Male
    California
    If you're just planning to use it for your phone I say go for it. Only thing I can say is your battery will drain faster if you don't use wifi anymore of course since you're home anyway, not really a big deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...