1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Why only 2 gb's for application storage?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darklide, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. darklide

    darklide Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    595
    21
    63
    Why only 2 gb's for application storage?

    I would assume because of webtop?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Why would you need more?
     
  3. darklide

    darklide Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    595
    21
    63
    Why only have 2 gb's when their is 10.5 gb's?
     
  4. aszreal1266

    aszreal1266 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    73
    6
    16
    Bay area CA
    game apps are getting pretty big. I know there is one app I am really tempted to get. Its called spectral souls. The game is just over 1 gig. So yea that 2 gig limit can be reached pretty quick. With the new unreal engine games that will be coming out who knows how large those will be.
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    You are confusing app memory and data memory. I bet the app itself is just a few up to 30 MB and only the data needed for it is around 1GB. The data will not ever be placed where the app is installed, it will be placed in the 10.5GB.

    Same thing with GPS Maps, etc., etc.
     
  6. aszreal1266

    aszreal1266 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    73
    6
    16
    Bay area CA
    ahhhh ok got it.
     
  7. arcticrider

    arcticrider Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    kentucky
    if this is true, then i dont see an issue.
    i wondered about this since GPS maps could take up more than 2 gigs on their own.
     
  8. cannuks76

    cannuks76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    with contract killer the whole doesnt install where the App's are thing is wrong now.(not trying to make u feel bad ;) because contract killer has 300 MB of data and it puts it in the /data/data folder wheras before it put in in /mnt/sdcard/Android/data folder.
     

Share This Page

Loading...