1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Why would I want to root the Atrix?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bgator, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. bgator

    bgator Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    I'm a bit new to all this, but I've been doing some reading.

    It seems the bloatware can be removed without root access, and with the encrypted bootloader nobody's going to be loading any custom ROMs even with root access. I'm not interested in tethering.

    So, is there any reason I should root my Atrix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. aggie99

    aggie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    my biggest reason which probably doesn't matter to alot of people. Screenshots. Unfortunately it's not near as easy to do as on most other platforms and you have to root and then install a screenshot program such as "shoot me" or any of the other available root apps.

    I also use wireless tether which makes the phone a wireless hotspot for free.

    That's pretty much the extent of my root use on my Droid X
     
  3. lsutigers03

    lsutigers03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    507
    42
    68
    Another main reason to root is to enable sideloading without having to use the sideload wonder machine.
     
  4. aggie99

    aggie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    yeah i didn't think about that...being at&t and all.

    i'm still with verizon at the moment and don't have to worry about that. If I do give in to temptation and get the Atrix that will be another reason for me to root.
     
  5. lsutigers03

    lsutigers03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    507
    42
    68
    Yeah AT&T has a hard on for ruining Android. Thankfully we have sites like this and xda.
     
  6. aggie99

    aggie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    amen to that.

    I'm still not 100% certain I'm going to make the jump because I don't feel right taking my business back to AT&T with the way they treat their android devices like stepchildren. I still can't get past them disabling HSUPA on these supposed 4g devices. My DX on verizon's ancient 3g network routinely gets .8 to 1 mbps up. still having a hard time resisting because the Atrix is a beast
     
  7. lsutigers03

    lsutigers03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    507
    42
    68

    The Droid Bionic is very similar only it has 512MB of RAM. If I was on Verizon I would probably get the Thunderbolt then a dual core later in the year.
     
  8. barry99705

    barry99705 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    My biggest reason is adblock.
     
  9. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    free wifi tethering
     
  10. rad204

    rad204 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    49
    0
    15
    whats wrong with the sideload wonder machine?
     
  11. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    There's nothing wrong with it, just that it requires you to use a PC.

    Having sideloading on the phone means you can just download an APK directly to the phone, and install it, no PC/connect involved!
     
  12. tical2k

    tical2k Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    85
    8
    16
    Unfortunatly I cant find a SS prog that works. Something abotu fd0 error on one, and no low level image access on another, also drocap2 just doesn't make the image... :(
     
  13. rckaflla88

    rckaflla88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    if i root now, do i essentially lose everything i've installed/setup up to this point?
     
  14. ScuroRaven

    ScuroRaven Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    158
    5
    36
    how do you activate HSUPA once rooted?
     
  15. barry99705

    barry99705 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    nope.
     
  16. danielkogan

    danielkogan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    51
    1
    16
    Yeah but where do you get the free wifi tethering? For the Atrix...
     
  17. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #355
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    bword likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...