1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wi-Fi Calling?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by accphotography, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. accphotography

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    This may seem like a really dumb question but I have been told several different things by several different people who should know.

    Does the Vibrant connect to a Wi-Fi and use it for data and calling? I have a Blackberry Curve at present and I have no reception inside my house. I connect my Curve to my Wi-Fi network and can do all data things and talk with zero dropped calls. I'm hoping to be able to do this with the Vibrant. If I can't I will have to consider another phone (I can't live with no reception in my house). I don't care if I can tether from it, I just need ot be able to use the Wi-Fi for data and calls on the handset.

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ETNSC

    ETNSC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    WiFi calling should be in the 2.2 update for the Vibrant which is supposed to come out by the end of the year. The leaked 2.2 ROM if the Vibrant that the guys at XDA have been working with had WiFi calling. It is a little different from what you are used to with UMA on the BB. UMA is automatic when you get in range of a configured access point. If I understand correctly you have to start an app to start WiFi calling.
     
  3. lordmalice

    lordmalice Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    77
    9
    16
    mechanic
    powell


    thats correct you have to start it but it has it the official vibrant froyo will have it and there is a flashible update to make a custum froyo get the availible wifi calling
     

Share This Page

Loading...