1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wi-Fi connection fails - requires router reboot!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bobthebob, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. bobthebob

    bobthebob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    I've been having this issue with both my Nexus' - my 10 and my 7.
    I'll look up and find my connection bars greyed out or none showing and my connection dead. All the other devices on the network will be functioning just fine, just the Nexus will have no connection (I have two laptops - one Mac one PC - several cell phones and sometimes a printer)
    Looking at the settings the network will show that it's either trying to connect over and over or just "saved".
    Attempts to log back in will be unsuccessful with the device seeming like it's failing to get an IP address our something.
    The ONLY way I can get reconnected is to reboot the router itself. Quite a drag...

    Google doesn't seem to turn up anything, and forum searches likewise have not been successful
    (One problem is there's a lot of 'noise' in results from searching trends like "Wi-Fi", "connection", etc).

    Anyone have a clue? It's annoying, especially when it happens somewhere I don't have access to the router (coffee shop etc).

    Mostly tho, it seems to happen at home.

    I'm running a Belkin N150 router with out-of-the-box settings.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Note: the problems don't always show up on both Nexus' simultaneously. Sometimes one will have a connection while the other does not, and sometimes they'll both be disconnected.
    Every other device's connection will be fine tho.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
     

    Advertisement

  2. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43
    Buddy of mine who just bought the 7 a few nights ago having exact same issues. All other devices connect fine , his 7 keeps dropping WiFi.

    He has been an all Apple guy, this has been his first experience with Android and unfortunately it is not good.

    Update: after rebooting his router his connection has remained stable he is going on 24+ hours without a drop
     
  3. Duncs

    Duncs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    112
    23
    58
    Male
    Southampton, UK
    I have been noticing this on all my nexus devices lately, however i only have to turn wifi off and on again to fix the issue and get blue bars and interwebs working again. Strange goings on ...
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've seen this reported for a great number of Android models and also iPhones and iPads, with the same cure, reset the router.

    It may help (no guarantees but it sometimes helps) to try Wifi Analyzer and check for channel conflicts. I also recommend choosing your own network name rather than letting the router use its default.
     
    Atma likes this.
  5. RARiley

    RARiley Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    8
    4
    6
    What is the procedure to "reset the browser"?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Do yourself a favor and get the manual for your router. They probably have a PDF version. Anyway go through the manual and find out how to reserve IP Addresses for all of the devices on your network. I have found that sometimes the DHCP server on routers can hold IP addresses, deny release of an IP address a device wants to have just after the lease resets, and generally just cause spooky things with Android. What reserving IP Addresses will do is tell both your Router and Device that no matter what that Device owns that particular IP address every time it connects rather than it looking at 254 different numbers (although most routers only leave 50 IP's to the DHCP server) to find the next one available. I have recommended this to several friends and customers and it has a pretty good success rate of fixing issues. Also check for Router firmware updates from Belkin. If this doesn't work let me know as I have a few other suggestions.
     
    Atma likes this.
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Totally my bad, in my mind I said that correctly - changed that to reset the router. Sorry about the confusion.
     
  8. dberthia

    dberthia Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    80
    46
    23
    Do you happen to be running Adblock Plus? I found it was causing my constant WiFi data drops, forcing me to toggle the WiFi off/on to temporarily fix. Uninstalled ABP, installed AdAway, and the problem is gone.
     
  9. bobthebob

    bobthebob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Thanks, I'll try some of this and see!
     
  10. scythefwd

    scythefwd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    129
    16
    58
    I know this is old, but I'm gonna chime in anyways..

    1. How long is the lease on your DHCP scope on your router?
    The reason I ask is this, some do very short leases form the get go, and rebooting the router makes everyone completley disconnect from the router and re-request a dhcp lease. Killing the wifi connection does the same thing.

    2. Is there a utility to request a new dhcp address out there? If so, is there a way to attempt to renew your lease or request a new one after its dropped its connection to see if that fixes the issue?

    3. Is the spacing of the drops a uniform length between, or is it 5 minutes one time, 3 days the next...?

    4. Have you updated to the new 4.3 that was relased months ago (I know, but covering the bases here.. and you cant play baseball with only 3 bases :D )


    The reason I ask, is quite simply there may be a fault in the dchp system that is causing problems when a lease runs out.
     
  11. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,849
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,849
    873
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    My router had a similar bug with one of my Xbox consoles. they never got an IP Address and timed out. i had previously reconfigured the router to only allow a max of say six devices online at once to save bandwidth but i started to grow with devices so that number became eight and that meant two units would not get online. it wouldn't work even if i turned two other devices off to 'make room'. i had to reboot the router. eventually i upped the pool to 12 devices at once and it's all good now.

    have you ever had a device 'steal' another computer's address in your network causing both to lose connectivity? for some odd reason my Google TV used to do that and would bring it and pretty much everything else offline until a reboot of the router. that was of course before i upped the pool.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...