• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Wi-Fi connection problems

e888boo

Lurker
Aug 9, 2011
Hi

I am a bit new to the Android thing so please bear with me!

I got my Flytouch 3 yesterday so booted it up connected to my wi-fi no problems, anyway later on went to reconnect and it gets as far as 'obtaining IP address' then gives up and disconnects, it will however connect if i disable the security on my network which is WPA/PSK.

Everything else on my network works fine, my Macbook, iPhone, PS3, NAS, Wii, but not the Flytouch now.

Please help as It's driving me insane!:)

Thanks

Jim

Hi

I am a bit new to the Android thing so please bear with me!

I got my Flytouch 3 yesterday so booted it up connected to my wi-fi no problems, anyway later on went to reconnect and it gets as far as 'obtaining IP address' then gives up and disconnects, it will however connect if i disable the security on my network which is WPA/PSK.

Everything else on my network works fine, my Macbook, iPhone, PS3, NAS, Wii, but not the Flytouch now.

Please help as It's driving me insane!:)

Thanks

Jim

Do you have the model number? It helps with giving you some direction.

Generically I would say go into settings under wifi and tell it to forget your router, turn your wifi off and reboot the pad. Then power back up, enable the wifi again and let it detect your router. Make sure you choose the remember box when you put in the password.

Reactions: e888boo
Upvote 0
Hi

Thanks for helping...

Pad info...

Model - DISCO10
Android Version- 2.2-20110529
Kernel - 2.6.32.9
Build - FRF85B

Have Tim's 5a ROM installed and pad is rooted now, although it's still having the same problems as before Tim's 5a.

Router info...

ISP - Sky
Router - Sagem F@ST 2504

Thanks!!!

Upvote 0
Ok so you tried flashing. Did you try the steps I mentioned above? You could also try flashing another ROM like Tim's 4e.

This is from tims tips you might try