• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Wi-Fi issue; Searches networks but finds none?

Sashraan

Lurker
Jul 12, 2012
Hi!
I'm completely new to the smartphone/android buisness, as this is my first smartphone ever. I'm a bit of a computer guy, so I know how to work things around on a computer, but with my Galaxy Mini it's a whole different story.

Here's the thing, Back at my parent's house, I get instant access to their wi-fi network and, after entering the password, I can surf the net instantly, but back at my house, the Mini just keeps searching and searching to no avail, no wi-fi networks appear under the 'Network Notification' option, where wi-fi networks usually appear. I cannot see the neighbors nor my own network, thus, I can't connect to any of them.

The question here is;
Is my Galaxy Mini unable to see un-broadcasted (hidden) SSIDs?
If so, is there a workaround to it?

I've tried these steps :
- Manually connecting to the network, by entering the SSID and Password correctly.
[ All this does is show me a network under the 'Network Notification' option, but it says "Out of Range, Protected by WPA/WPA2 PSK". I know for a fact that I am NOT out of range, since I am straight next to the router. :s: ]

- Hard-reset (Pulling the battery out while the phone is on)
[It indeed reset the phone, only to return with the same problems. :eviltongue:]

- Turning wi-fi off and back on.
[To no avail :eviltongue:]

- Writing a post on this forum, hoping some android/galaxy mini pro can answer me. :D

Hopefully this will get sorted out soon, because I am totally hyped about the phone, it being my first and such! :p

Best regards!
Sashraan

Little update!
I just tried re-booting the router (Un-plug for 20 seconds, re-plug.) and magically; Poof! The network popped up!