1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wi-fi never reconnects at home?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Maury, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Maury

    Maury Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008

    Nov 18, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    So I have a netgear router at home which I can log into with my G-phone and everything works fine. I leave the house, come back and my phone won't connect?

    It sees the network, tries to connect, but it fails. The password is remembered in my profile settings for my network, but it won't let me in!

    It is very frustrating. I'm not a network expert, but is there a setting on my router or phone I need to change? Static IP? something like that.

    I do not have my router setup for IP specific permissions. Anyone with the proper WPA password should be able to get on, (and in fact, I am able to login sometimes...)

    Also, distance, etc. is not a problem. I'm sitting 2 ft. away from the wireless router.

    Any thoughts? Anyone experience this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. demian

    demian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008

    Nov 18, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    It's probably router problem. Had the same thing with my PSP wi-fi connection.
    Just did a reset on my router and problem was gone.

    P.S.: I know this is G1 forum! :p Hope this solution helps.
     
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    I have and open router at home ... and my phone connects automatically to it as soon as I am in range, from the street infront of the house. It will then switch to Edge when out of range... I am not at home at the moment so the model I am not sure of ... but will update this post later today ... I think it is a netgear model ..???
    Update: The Router I have is a DLink DI-624...
     
  4. nustherapy

    nustherapy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008

    Oct 31, 2008
    3
    0
    5
    I have the same issue with my phone, it will loose connection and never regain it on its own, I have to go in to the wireless setting and force the connection. The error message is somthing generic like "connection failed", I am also using WPA, and I have a Buffalo, Linksys, and ASUS router all have the same issues... maybe an issue with WPA on the phone?
     
  5. Maury

    Maury Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008

    Nov 18, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    Yes nustherapy... that's EXACTLY my problem...

    If I log into my router, and hit reset, it suddenly works. That makes absolutely no sense.. I also have WPA enabled.

    Problem is, who do you go to for support. T-mobile blows me off and nobody knows anything about this phone. Google support is non-existant.

    There is just nobody who can make this work, yet oddly T-mobile/HTC/google all promise me it will work, then just blame it on the other people when it doesn't...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...