1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wi-Fi not showing

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MartinMalley, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. MartinMalley

    MartinMalley Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I started the process to root my wife's samsung transform ultra. Didn't do it right and the phone rebooted back to stock. That's when I noticed there was no Wi-Fi. Checked the settings and it was turned off. Turned it on and it scans, but cannot find my home network. I have no idea how long the wireless has been off/not working!

    Went ahead and finished the root and installed megatron 6.2, but it didn't fix/change the wireless issue.

    I've done some searching and this doesn't seem to be a common issue. Anyone have any ideas of how to fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    try resetting your router and or modem,should be good after that i experienced that once when i flashed a different rom
     
  3. MartinMalley

    MartinMalley Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Well, that seemed to be the ticket. I reset the cisco, then changed the wireless band to 5ghz and the channel width to auto (which restarted the wireless services). Turned off/on the phone wireless and the network reappeared.

    But then none of the other machines in the house could see the wireless.

    Thanks!
     
  4. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    no problem did you get the other devices connected
     
  5. MartinMalley

    MartinMalley Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    No, had to drop back. So tomorrow I'm going to try 5 again, then restart all the other devices. When I dropped back, the phone lost the network again.
     
  6. MartinMalley

    MartinMalley Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    So after checking, not all my devices are 5ghz compatible, so I have to stick with 2.4, which the transform isn't seeing. Anyone have any ideas? can I tell the phone to only look for 2.4 or something?
     
  7. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    maybe try changing router channel to 11
     

Share This Page

Loading...