1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wi-fi problems (can't find wifi)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CrispyxP, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. CrispyxP

    CrispyxP Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hello I recently bought a galaxy sII and it's my first smartphone ever, so I'm still a newbie, but I've been reading a few things.

    Right now I have 2 problems with my wi-fi connection, first, sometimes I use the wi-fi at the restaurant near home, it's free and without password, the only thing that I need to do, is to click in the "I agree" button that should appear when I try to connect. In my itouch, this page opens automatically when I try to connect to the wi-fi (same thing happens for mc wi-fi and other places with free connections). But this page doesn't show up in my galaxy.

    The second problem, is that I'm using my laptop to share my cable internet connection, for this I'm using connectify (I also did the "normal" way, without any program) and my galaxy doesn't find the wi-fi network, but my Itouch can find and connect to it.
    Does any one know how to fix these problems?
    Thank you in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. CrispyxP

    CrispyxP Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hey, anyone?
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,994
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The log-in may be opening as another page rather than the current one. If not it may be a page rendering problem - try another browser.

    I can't help with the Connectify issue as I've never used it, sorry.
     
  4. CrispyxP

    CrispyxP Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks, after installing the new rom, the navigator changed and now the loggin page appears.
    But i still cant fix the wifi issue. Do you know anything about ad hoc wireless? I think maybe it's a different type and the galaxy can't see it
     
  5. CrispyxP

    CrispyxP Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
  6. icedtea

    icedtea Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    304
    11
    38
    Male
    too bad S2 does not support ad hoc yet.. that's the reason on why my other laptop connects with my 2nd laptop with ease via wifi but S2 does not see any one of them :(

    i just use wifi via my windows XP desktop
     
  7. CrispyxP

    CrispyxP Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    what do you mean by using internet by your windows xp desktop?
    can you share your pc's internet with your galaxy s2 if you have xp?

    thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...