1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wi-Fi Tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by trebor7, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. trebor7

    trebor7 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    13
    0
    15
    Now that we have root for the Rise, is it possible to use it for tethering? If so, what tethering apps are the best, as in causing the least problems?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Wifi tether for Root users is usually a safe bet. Might have to play with some settings on it to get it to work right...
     
    mcgraham89 likes this.
  3. NumberXV

    NumberXV Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    47
    7
    16
    Male
    Get Wifi Tether For Root User

    Open the app and go to settings
    Change device profiles to Generic ICS/JB (wlan0)
    Click on routing fix
    Done

    You should now have WiFi Tether.. add a pass code if you want

    (Credit goes to howlofdawn I'm just posting this up)
     
    AQAA likes this.
  4. mjkinneyx

    mjkinneyx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Male
    Burlington, Vermont
    I use Barnacle, it seems faster than WiFi Tether and doesn't lose connection as much.
     
  5. joshua8790

    joshua8790 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    61
    8
    36
    Male
    Student
    Monterrey Bay Area, CA
    I used to use barnacle until I had the evo... barnacle didn't like the Evo, but wifi tether worked the best.

    wifi tether is what I used on the Rise, and it works nicely.
     
  6. rwperkinsjr

    rwperkinsjr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    I use WiFi Tether for Root Users, it works great.
     
  7. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    If it's on Virgin it amounts to an exercise in frustration considering the abysmally slow 3G speeds.
     
  8. edtrud

    edtrud Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    14
    4
    16
    I can't even use any root features! Its telling me to get supersu pro? Its blocking all the wifi tethering
     
  9. dustinmerk

    dustinmerk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    white pigeon michigan
    i need some help i tried changing the profile to generic ics/jb (wlan0) and turned on routing fix but it just keeps loading and nothing works im using the kyocera rise vm 4.0.4 the device is rooted but its doing nothing any other opinions on what to do in the settings or another app to use?
     
  10. dustinmerk

    dustinmerk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    white pigeon michigan
    What settings are you using on the barnacle I can't get it to work on my krocera rise from vm?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...