• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

WorldBuilder

Dec 15, 2009
Hi all,

So I'm reading that my precious R2D2 here will connect to a wireless network, such as the one in my house. Cool... So let's say I go home tonight, whip out R2, and configure him to connect to my WLAN. Here are my questions...

• Once configured, does connecting to it kill/suspend the regular VZW data connection?
  • If so, will that return if I disconnect from the W-Fi-or in another way get out of range of the it?
  • If not, how does the phone know when to use which connection?
  • In a nutshell... How does the phone handle multiple data connections, and what do I need to know to handle it?
Thanks!

Chris

I'm not an expert by any means, but I do exactly what you are describing. I use Locale to dedect when I am home. It will then turn on wifi and connect to my home network. 3G does get turned off, or at least the 3G icon doesn't show up any more. Then when I leave the house Locale turns off wifi and 3G automatically kicks in.

I found the spead to be quicker this way and some claim that it helps on battery. Since I was having a lot of issues with battery until yesterday I can't make any claims about that.

Upvote 0
I have used wireless a few times, and when I do the 3G icon is no longer there, rather the wireless network icon is. So I'm assuming that for data is transferred through your wireless. (webpages, marketplace, etc)

When I disconnect, the 3g icon reappears.

Idk if that will help or not, it's fairly straightforward all you have to do is connect to wireless or disconnect from wireless.

Upvote 0
Answers below in RED.

Here are my questions...

• Once configured, does connecting to it kill/suspend the regular VZW data connection? Yes.
  • If so, will that return if I disconnect from the W-Fi-or in another way get out of range of the it? Yes. Your 3G icon will reappear once the DROID loses it's wireless connection.