1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by it's me, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. it's me

    it's me Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    Semi Retired
    Wollongong NSW Australia
    Hello,

    I'm very new to Android.

    When I enable Wi-Fi and put the security code in for my router/modem the phone connects to the router.

    How do I know if I'm using the net via the router rather than using the net vis the 3G USIM?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    861
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    861
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    Typically (with Verizon anyway) when you connect to WiFi the cellular data connection is disabled so you can be pretty sure if you're connected to WiFi that's what you're using.
     
    it's me likes this.
  3. it's me

    it's me Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    Semi Retired
    Wollongong NSW Australia
    Hi mplevy,

    Your quick reply is much appreciated.

    I'm in Australia and with Three.

    Will do a bit on the net with the Wi-Fi and then check my usage with Three.

    Thanks
     
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,350
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,350
    283
    163
    It's not Verizon-specific. Check your notification bar for the WiFi icon.
     
  5. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    Just to make sure that you are not downloading large data via 3G, you can use a free application like Stats Free that will show you your Wifi and 3G data usage.
     
    it's me likes this.
  6. garybeck

    garybeck Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #299
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    317
    17
    38
    If I'm going to be doing anything significant on my phone and I have a wifi connection enabled (which is free) I usually go and manually disable my data connection. even though I have unlimited data, I see no reason to use it, and my understanding is wifi is faster.

    I wouldn't trust the phone manufacturer or 3G provider to make it automatically choose wifi if both are available. especially if they're charging you for one and not the other.

    it takes about 5 seconds to go into the settings and disable the data connection.

    the only thing I lose in my setup is I can't send MMS messages when the data connection goes down, even with wifi on. But I don't use MMS very often so it's not a big deal.
     
    it's me likes this.
  7. rzozaya1969

    rzozaya1969 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    58
    5
    16
    Mexico
    Hi it's me, I'm also new to Android (I'm on 2.2 on Samsung Galaxy Ace), and I turned off the data option, so I know I'm only using wi-fi (or not getting any info). This is because I don't have any data package option contracted from my supplier.

    But, I guess that if the wi-fi icon is on, it means all internet access is done through wi-fi (it's faster than using the phone provider).
     

Share This Page

Loading...