1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

widgets cost money?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by minzer, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    671
    68
    78
    Red Sox Nation
    Yes, it is always free if you are connected to wifi: in your home, at the library, at certain coffee shops that provide free wifi, etc. Even though I have an unlimited data plan (my carrier requires it), I always use wifi when it is available. It is generally faster and more reliable.

    You will be surprised to find out how often you want access to information when you DON'T have the ability to use wifi though. Want to get the score of the hockey game while you are out? You need data. Need directions? Google maps requires a data connection to work. Have a weather or news widget installed? It will automatically update itself at pre-installed intervals. Facebook too. And you have to register a g-mail account in order to use the Android Market, so gmail will require data as well.

    I'm sure you CAN disable 3G and use only wifi. But you won't get everything out of your phone that it is designed to do. And if it accesses the 3G network even briefly, you can expect a large bill. Honestly, I wouldn't have a phone with all these capabilities if I could only use them at home on my own wifi. Most of the cellular carriers here in the US will not allow you to activate a smartphone on their network without a data plan. Maybe it's different in Canada.
     

    Advertisement

  2. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    yeah i think i will get a data plan, but not a big data plan, so i agree with you on the need to use the internet on the go to check updates and such when wifi isnt availabe.


    and shawn what do you mean get a feature phone? what is a feature phone?
     
  3. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,185
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,185
    293
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    A feature phone is normally your talk/text phone that doesn't require a data plan. You say you don't plan on using the web browser, facebook or gmail so why not just get something specific to your needs.

    BTW - Most of them can run java based apps so there won't be a need for market.
     
  4. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    ok so i guess i have no choice but to sync my phone with my google account, but i want an adnroid phone so i can laos use apps, not just talk/text for a feature phone.

    but as with syncing my google account and getting a small data plan (maybe bigger), i will just not use widgets like gmail and facebook when im not using wifi, hopefully they dont run when they're not in my homescreens, which i'm sure they dont.

    when i get my phone i will probly create 3 seperate scenes, one for wifi only which will be for use at home, one for absolutely no wifi/ carrier network at all, and one for carrier network only.
     
  5. Starfleet Captain

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    86
    13
    38
    Atlanta, GA
    Keep these points in mind

    1.Minzer, your wifi router at your house has a very limited range, Like all wifi hot spots. This range, in most cases, cover the entire house and maybe a quarter to half a block. So, when you are at home, switch your phone to wifi (This will automatically turn off your 3G data connection, but your phone service will still work). Your wifi connection will be as fast as your home's internet connection (Provided their aren't multiple devices using data from your network). Here, you can download apps, use google maps, google earth, google goggles, and as many widgets as you like without incurring one iota of a data charge.

    2. Since wifi has very limited range, your phone's data connection will not work once you leave its vicinity and you will have to switch back to 3g. If you do not have a data plan, this will cost you big time. The widgets that use data are the ones that updates info from the net automatically, like news, weather, sports info, and that stuff. Using google maps also uses data since the map information downloads live as you navigate.

    3. You stated that you had no need for a web browser. That's fine. But a lot of apps in the app market require a data connection to work. In fact, as I stated earlier, The entire Android platform is centered around being able to connect to the Internet automatically, in the background to sync and download data. Android 2.2 and the upcoming 3.0 will take this to the next level by utilizing cloud (INTERNET) services. If this is not something that interests you, (Or something you don't want to pay for) Then DON'T get an android phone. Black Berries have some nice apps, though not as cool as Android. If the only thing that interests you is phone and text, get a feature phone or a Black Berry. IF you want the cool apps that Android offer, you have to get a data plan, so that you can fully enjoy the experience

    4. With moderate use of your phone: Widgets are set to sync a few times a day, use browse the internet once a day, lightly, you very seldom use the email and you do no streaming (No Pandora and no YouTube and the like), You should be good with 100MB - 200 MB per month. Slice that in half if the bulk of your downloading will be over wifi at work and at home.
     
    minzer likes this.
  6. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    JUST TO CLEAR THINGS UP

    so if am in my house using my wifi, i can use the internet browser and go on youtube and watch youtube vids, use the friends stream widget by HTC Sense, EMAIL, use google maps, and such without costing a single cent??????:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

    and if I'm using my carriers network, everything would cost money??????
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
     
  7. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
  8. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    671
    68
    78
    Red Sox Nation
    Just so you know, any app you have installed will run whether it is on your home screen or not. Apps that require internet access to synchronize or update will do it regardless of the "scene" on your phone. If wifi is available, it will use that. If it's not, it will use the network - unless you disable access to the network and enable it only when you need it for something. You will want to manage your settings very carefully.
     
  9. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    wait so you know a way to prevent my phone from using my carriers network and only use wifi?
    and could you try to answer my top question please?
     
  10. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    671
    68
    78
    Red Sox Nation
    To prevent your phone from accessing your network, go to settings>wireless and network>mobile network. Uncheck mobile network and your phone will use wifi only. You will still have voice and text capability.

    I'm not sure which "top" question you are referring to. Some widgets and apps need to be purchased from the market. This is a one-time fee and most are only a couple of dollars. Most are free. If they require data to run, you will be charged if they access the mobile network, but not if you are on wifi.

    Just remember that something like weather isn't very useful if it can't update. If you are not on wifi and you have the mobile network disabled, it won't update.

    The amount of data you use will depend on how you want to use your phone, and how often you are actually connected to wifi. I have turned off the network when I was out of my network coverage area (actually - I was in Canada) because I knew I would be hit with substantial roaming charges if I used data there. Before I left home, I downloaded an inexpensive off-line navigation app and the maps for all the areas I would be traveling so I could navigate without accessing the network. It wasn't as smooth as google nav, but it did the job. I was able to live without my facebook updates for the duration of the trip. Work e-mail was a bit more problematic, but since the company won't pay my roaming charges, I refuse to incur them.

    If your carrier will allow you to activate the phone on their network without a data plan, you can do that. But you will be missing out on a lot IMO.
     
    minzer likes this.
  11. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    ok thanks for all that, so the message im getting here is that........

    - ok so i know some apps cost money and i have to pay a one time fee to buy it

    - wifi= ALWAYS FREE NOT MATTER WHAT YOUR DOING UNLESS BUYING SOMETHING

    - network=money and data to use

    (and the top question i meant was the one with biig writting, but thats ok i understand now)
     
  12. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    671
    68
    78
    Red Sox Nation
    You've got it!
     
    minzer likes this.
  13. minzer

    minzer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    thanks alot! :) I know those were all probly really newbie/stupid questions but i was just a bit unsure. but thanks alot for all the help!!!!!!:eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...