1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Widgets never load up after off/on?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by khaag27, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. khaag27

    khaag27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    298
    14
    38
    Homemaker
    NorCal
    So whenever I shut my phone off and turn it back on my widgets never load up and I constantly have to remove them from the screen and put them back on. Does everyone have to do this??

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    334
    14
    38
    Philadelphia
    My battery widget does this
     
  3. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    279
    14
    38
    Engineer
    Florida
    When my widgets don't load, I usually flip my scenes to the left and right a couple times until they show up. Usually they load up after switching the scenes once or twice.
     
  4. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    +1 i always go through all my pages and when i go back to the home screen everything is there and loaded up right
     
  5. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    416
    5
    36
    Computer Technician
    Take a guess
    One trick that works for me is grabbing the widget like you are going to move it then wiggle it around for a second and then plop it back down.
     
  6. mlblack16

    mlblack16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    140
    16
    38
    Columbus, OH
    My experience, the more widgets = the longer it takes for my Hero to fully boot up.

    Especially ones like facebook and sportstap. For some reason, Express News refuses to reload after a soft reset so I always have to dump it (since it's a shadowed area stating "express news loading" or something) and then reinstall. Also, the latest SMS unread count widget gives you several cool looking icons (which look better than stock or handcent) never saves which custom icon. It will refresh, but just goes to the default.
     
  7. khaag27

    khaag27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    298
    14
    38
    Homemaker
    NorCal
    Ok. The ones I seem to have the most problems with are pure calendar (still not loaded and I tried all the tricks) and finance widget for my stocks.
     
  8. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    124
    9
    36
    It's a known bug on the Sprint Hero where the widgets don't refresh properly after a phone reboot or home restart.

    Some developers are actually adding a configuration workaround of sorts to their widgets, though this has the negative effect only allowing one instance of the widget to be running at one time. (MoreIcons and Weather Forecast Widget v2 are two apps I know of that are doing this.)

    I haven't seen anything where HTC is planning to address this. I'm hoping that the ROM devs can resolve it now that the full development source code has been released.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...