1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root widgets require root??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by welbinator, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    I just tried to add a widget to my wife's homescreen on her new rezound, and it told me I needed root access to do that. What the hell?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    What was the app/widget? That would raise a red flag to me because I'm very cautious what apps get root access.
     
    Rxpert83 and scotty85 like this.
  3. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    any widget. the phone is completely stock. this is the message:

    ! Sorry

    Due to limitations of the Android framework, you cannot add widgets from the drawer without root access.

    If super user is available on your device, please enable Root Helper from advanced settings and try again. You may also remove the widgets tab from drawer settings.

    Help. Settings. Ok.


    what do you think?
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Are you using a custom launcher, like nova,apex, go, etc?
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yes... sounds like she is using apex launcher,wich will let you add apps from the drawer if you transfer the launcher from data/app to system/app.

    with the launcher in data/app,and no root access,youll have to add widgets the old school way,via the "personalize" menu option in system settings,or via(i think) long press on the screen.

    i have apex in my system folder,so i can add widgets from the drawer,but im pretty sure the above will do it :)
     
    jhawkkw likes this.
  6. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    Apex.

    Yeah, I added one today by long pressing on the main screen and it worked. just can't do it from the app drawer.

    I've always been rooted before so I never came across this issue. This phone is my wifes so I probably won't be rooting it.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...