1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Widgets... to work do they have to be on phone storage only?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by freefall, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    I've noticed that after I've rooted I have issues with widgets. Do you have to have the relevant app stored to the phone instead of to the sd card for them to be available?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    Widgets must installed on the phone storage.
    As I heard, while phone is booting widgets want to start before the OS mounts the SD card.

    Harry
     
  3. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    thanks for replying. So, if widgets boot up before the os mounts the sd card then I can't use widgets? That seems really extreme to me. How does everyone else manage to use widgets?
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    freefall likes this.
  5. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    I think this is the thing I am after. I searched but got hundreds of threads which did not throw much up, must learn how to search better. I think this should do it, sounds a bit tricky for a newbie rooter but worth a pop.

    Thanks
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,686
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,686
    14,884
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If you use an ext partition (the root-only apps to SD approach) then widgets work. It's when "moved to SD" via the applications menu that they don't. At a quick glance that's what that post is referring to.

    Have a look at the root memory FAQ, linked from the "all about rooting" sticky post in the root forum (red link in my sig) for more information.
     
  7. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    Thanks a lot for the help guys. The above info helped. Also, by having LauncherPro on my phone storage massively helped. I have loads of free space now. Widgets seem to be working nice and stable, but if I have any more issues I will do the above.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...