1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wifi Ad-Hoc Tethering Issues in A3.0/A3.5

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AS23, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. AS23

    AS23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    17
    2
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm sure some of you may have encountered this problem before; however I was wondering if anyone is aware of any reliable fixes for this issue.

    Whenever I try to use the WiFi tethering function on my phone so the Touchpad can share my data connection, it works fine in CM7 A2.1. However if I upgrade to A3.0 or A3.5, while the TP can see my connection, whenever I select connect nothing happens, it will just show "remember" underneath the SSID and do nothing. I've tried numerous things to try and work around this problem however nothing will take care of it; the only possible fix I've seen mentioned is unreliable and creates other problems (installing the wpa suplicant files from A2.1 on top of A3.5).

    My question is if anyone else is experiencing this problem, and if so, have they found some way to work around this issue? I find it odd that something which worked fine in an older build of the alpha suddenly ceases to function in the newer, less buggy, builds. My phone is not capable of anything but an Ad-Hoc connection so suggestions of using some other method are not an option. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. john510

    john510 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    Oct 15, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I have the same problem with both CM7 and Webos for the teathering. I use VM with wireless tether but when I tell it to connect in cm7 it just keeps (the lock) circling and circling)

    My adhoc does not even show in web OS at all even though I I use a laptop it works fine , Im sure someone will have a fix for this , just when?
     
  3. AS23

    AS23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    17
    2
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    For those of you unfortunate enough to also be experiencing this issue, I found a fix that may also work for you as it did for me. Go to the market and download "ZT 180 Ad Hoc Tethering Switch" after installing it on the TP make sure your wifi is on, all networks forgotten, and run the program. Make sure your SSID is "AndroidTether" on your phone and switch it on, then select to connect via ad hoc tethering in the app and it should work.
     
  4. jgsouthard

    jgsouthard Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    MANY THANKS! This worked for me as well. I now have my HP Touchpad with Android (CM7 Alpha 3.5) WiFi tethering to my OG Droid (CM7) running OpenGarden in Ad-Hoc mode.

    I honestly never thought I would get this to work, at least not with OG Droid.

    Note that you really do have to forget all existing wireless connections or it won't work. I used FXR WiFi Fixer from the Market to do that quickly and easily, but of course I still have to recreate my usual WiFi connections.
     
  5. AS23

    AS23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    17
    2
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    No problem! This method actually works in CM9 as well; however it doesn't work as flawlessly; although I noticed after having had it installed once, even if you uninstall the program it will still attempt to auto-connect to "AndroidTether" every time you you turn on WiFi and give you a steady connection. Give it a shot if you are having issues getting adhoc tether to work on your TP.
     
  6. Carnyewest

    Carnyewest Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I instaled ZT-180 on cm9 alpha 0.6...when i open it...the screen is just black and after a few minutes says. ZT-180 Adhoc Switcher is not responding. Would you like to Wait...Report...OK. Thats all it does.. Any ideas how to get this work? Also, once it does work and I open the program. What do I click next?

    Nevermind, the FXR Wifi Fixer did the trick. I just had to run it first. Thanks guys!
     
  7. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,067
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    I just have Miui DX w/ infrastructure fix installed on my phone. Tethers fine to my TP every single time.
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Saw your post on Rootzwiki a bit ago. :D
     
  9. techSage

    techSage Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012

    Apr 27, 2012
    2
    0
    25
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...