1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Wifi And 3G signal

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ngaham, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. ngaham

    ngaham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    I have noticed that my wifi signal strength is crap. I can be in the same room about 4 ft away from my router and my signal strength is 2 bars on my wifi. Also on my 3g coverage I am at 1-2 bars max. When I 1st got my phone never had this problem. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Is it an actual problem where you are noticing a slower download speed? Or is it something completely aesthetic with the signal meters? Because if you aren't noticing a large drop in performance, you don't really have a problem. The signal meter is only making you think you have a problem.

    With wifi, even if you are getting a weaker signal, the Eris will never be able to be able to fully utilize the 54 Mb connection.

    A) The processor just cannot keep up with that much data at once. My Eris can really only push 5 Mb a second on my 20 Mb internet connection.
    B) Its usually using your internet anyway, which more than likely is not above 54 Mb so it can't fully saturate the bandwidth even if it COULD.

    And with 3G it can vary wildly just by moving around. I can go from 2 bars to 0 just facing a different direction.
     
  3. ngaham

    ngaham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    I notice the problem in speed as well as the signal strength. So it's overall. But I do not understand why I am 4ft from my router and it appears that im far away from it.
     
  4. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    Are you using something like speedtest to determine a speed issue? If not, I suggest trying it out and report back what kind of throughput you are getting on both wifi and 3g.
     
  5. ngaham

    ngaham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    I ran a speed test on 3G and get about 900 kbps dl and 700 kbps ul. I can't test wifi at the moment. My issue is not so much the speed but the signal shown. It shows I have a weak signal but I should have a full signal.
     
  6. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    get an app to test the signal........ I use wifi analyzer...... it will tell you exactly what kind of signal youre getting
     
  7. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Holy christ. That's a really good signal for 3G. Around here, your lucky to get 700 kbs down, even with full bars.
     
  8. ngaham

    ngaham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    i used wifi analyzer when i got home. I am about 4ft from the router and I get a -80 reading on it.
     
  9. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    while I would have expected that number to be a little lower with you being so close to the router....... it does depend on the router itself ......... how much signal strength is it really pushing out........

    -80 is a very acceptable signal...... you should be getting perfectly clear traffic with it.....

    I wouldnt worry to much about the signal meter they are well known for being wonky
     
  10. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    Really? Hmmm.. I guess I shouldn't complain. I got 1584 kbps down and 864 up with 2 bars.
     
  11. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I just did one with 3 bars, and I got 560 Kb/s download, and 636 Kb/s upload. My upload is always higher than my download. I never really understood why. The only time saw higher than one Mb, was when I was in New York City.

    However, on 2G I can get 16 Kb/s down, and 964 Kb/s up. :D
     
  12. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    699
    76
    78
    Texas
    Thats weird.. haha
     
  13. ngaham

    ngaham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    I have a verizon Fios router. I also have an iPOD touch and that gets a better signal then my eris. My eris also drops the wifi connection after only a few minutes. I have it set to never sleep but it still does... why can't they make a phone where everything works like its suppose to?
     
  14. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    They do, the droid. Sense is buggy i guess...
     
  15. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    That's weird. My Eris can hold my wifi connection about a block away (provided there are no houses in the way of the router of course).
     
  16. ngaham

    ngaham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    Do you think i should take it into VZ and have them exchange it for me?
     
  17. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Possibly. If you see it as a problem, there is nothing really stopping you. The worst that can happen is that they don't do anything about it.

    Or you get a Eris with worse problems.

    But on the bright side, they may exchange it for a Moto Droid!
     

Share This Page

Loading...