1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

WIFI Antenna Strength

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by artbytes, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. artbytes

    artbytes Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    403
    26
    43
    Has anyone else noticed that the WIFI signal is not as strong with their Atrix as with other devices?

    At my house, there is a room that I'm in a lot that is a decent distance from our home access point. However, my laptop, my old phone, an iPhone 3GS, and our iPad never had any problem connecting to our WIFI.

    However, now I have a new Atrix, and we traded up for the new iPad 2. Both of the new devices frequently disconnect from our access point, while the older ones continue to have no problem. I've had to turn off WIFI and just use the 3G when I'm at home in that room. Of course, then I forget to turn WIFI back on, so I'm using more 3G data than I would otherwise. I'm OK with my allowance, but it seems to me that ATT would want to insure that their phones had good WIFI onboard.

    I haven't found a way to change the WIFI channel to try and improve my connection.
     

    Advertisement

  2. razholio

    razholio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    102
    20
    38
    I've noticed that WIFI strength on my atrix is not quite as good as my old IP4. However, even a weak signal will provide poor performance and run down the battery faster. So, the solution is pretty simple, and not too costly. Most people I know with multi-level homes will add a second WAP so that coverage is solid everywhere in the house. This goes for multi-floors as well as from the front yard to the back.
     
  3. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,876
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,876
    275
    163
    My Wfi signal works just as well as my old phone. I can even pick up the signal with 3 bars in the garage. I live in a 2 story house with a basement and have Wifi access everywhere in and outside around the house. Sometimes if you are using a case covering the phone, that might interfer with the signal. Just a thought.
     
  4. artbytes

    artbytes Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    403
    26
    43
    Thanks for the replies. I just got the case for the Atrix, so I don't think it's the case that's causing the problem. It was like that before I got the case.

    I am interesting in boosting the signal, though, since this is effecting the iPad2, as well. Any suggestions on how to go about this.

    We have a cable modem that's hooked to the router. The router needs to stay where it is, because there are computers in the house that are wired from there. I'm not sure how to go about adding the signal boost or what type of equipment to get. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.
     
  5. cregal121

    cregal121 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    yes, i've noticed. reception is crap for the atrix, both wifi and cellular.

    sucks, because that's really the only thing keeping me from really loving the phone.
     
  6. redrider67

    redrider67 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    274
    21
    38
    I don't have a problem with my Atrix or Iphone 3GS both will pick up a signal at the end of my driveway..I don't have a normal driveway it's a little over 200 feet to my mailbox. Both phones picked up on my cheap $20 Belkin router, I did upgrade to a Cisco router and it seems to keep the connection better.
     
  7. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,876
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,876
    275
    163
    I'm not sure what type or how old your router is, but that might have an effect on the signal. (Not to mention its position.) We have a Cisco 1000 router that's not even a year old, that sits about six feet off the ground, on top of the computer cabinet. Try moving closer to the router and see how strong the signal is. Then start moving away and see what happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...