1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support WIFI Broke - Really Need Help / Suggestions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by samhawkes86, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. samhawkes86

    samhawkes86 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Hi guys,

    My new galaxy s2 is not working????!!!

    Ive had the phone for about 10 days or so now, love the phone, ive acually been raving it up at every oppotunity on here!

    but out of the blue my wifi has stopped working??

    It shows im connected and shows i have a good signal but for what ever reason it just doesnt work (web pages dont load, app market doesnt work etc etc).

    Ive experienced this with other phones before and normally all i would have to do is turn off the wifi and turn it back on again and it would start working again. But for some reason this aint working with this at all. The only time it works is if i turn off the phone completley and then turn it back on. It will work no problem for as long as i use it, but as soon as i stop using it for a bit and go to use it later on it stops working again. Again it shows i have good signal and everything but it just doesnt bloody work. The only thing that gets it working again is if i turn the phone off and back on again.

    Would really appreciate any help you guys could offer :(

    (Im running the latest firmware KE7)
     

    Advertisement

  2. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    The only thing I might suggest is in settings/wifi/advanced/never sleep.
     
  3. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    Since you're connected and showing signal, it sounds like your WiFi connection is losing DNS and/or the gateway.

    Just to test it out, setup your phone to use a static gateway and DNS. Your gateway will be the same as your router (for most home configurations), usually 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1, and for DNS it's service dependent, but you can always just use a public service like Google, 8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4

    It might be your WiFi connection is going down, and then when it provisions a fresh connection/IP (via DHCP) it's not get refreshed correctly.
     
  4. samhawkes86

    samhawkes86 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Hi, thanks for the suggestion but its not working (unless im doing it wrong, but i think im doing it right). Dont suppose you have any other suggestions :(


    I dont understand why its not working because my iphone 3gs and my pc (wireless card) are both picking up the wireless fine, just my sammy not working (even tho its showing im connected).

    Could just keep turning it off and on every 10 - 15mins or so when it stops working but thats ideal lol.

    Suppose my only other choice is to send it back??

    (PS tried the previous suggestio ref wifi sleep, its already set to "never")
     
  5. sepian78

    sepian78 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have the exact same problem, it shows that the connection to the router is fine, but no actual data transfer is happening. I tried static IP but it doesn't work as well.

    Does anybody have a solution for this problem?
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Go into your router's setup UI and there should be a listing of all devices connected. Make sure that your GS2's MAC address is listed there, and also that the IP address shown when you tap the network connection (in Settings/Wireless & networks/Wi-fi settings) on the handset tallies with the IP range offered by the router. This will confirm that the handset connection is 100%.
     
  7. samhawkes86

    samhawkes86 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Hi mate

    ive found a solution to mine (well more of a work around really).

    I now have to go into the wifi settings and turn flight mode on and then off again. This seems to kick it back into action again (until the next time it just hangs for no reason).

    i think its more an issue with our internet setup tbh. we have crap internet, about 2.5mb down on a good day and the ping avarages around 100.

    We have two or three people in the house all using that same wifi connection with quite heavy use (lots of downloading, youtube viewing, webcam stuff, sky play etc) and i think this coupled with the not great wifi to begin with causes it to hang alot.

    One thing i dont understand is why i have to turn flight mode on and then off again to get it working instead of just turning wifi off and on?

    I had this same issue with my iphone 3gs and i just had to turn off wifi and then turn it back on again but that does naff all on this phone, as i said i have to actually turn flight mode on and off to have the same effect? strange.

    Anyway, try that, hopefully that will work for you too :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...