1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support wifi calling

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by markbehr, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    Ok, I just bought the sensation 4g couple days ago. My question is, the tmobile rep said wifi calling is free and does not use up my minutes but on the phone it keeps saying that does, so which is it? Im confused and dont know what to believe. thanks for the help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tangent

    Tangent Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    515
    91
    98
    Free WiFi calling is a fairly recent change for TMobile so the app is probably warning you based on out of date info. It's probably a good idea to call 611 on your phone and have them confirm if you plan on using that a lot though...
     
  3. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    ok thanks. i will do that.
     
  4. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    Ok i was just told that the phone has the ability, and it cost ten dollars a month to use this feature. so wifi calling isnt free hmmm.
     
  5. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    There is a misunderstanding between you and that rep. There is no charge for this feature. The application predates any change in policy.
     
  6. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    lol well theres one way to solve this. wait to i get my bill, then i will find out lol
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    It is my understanding that the "feature" is free however it will use plan minutes. So if you have a 500 minute plan, for $29/mo, you will continue to pay $29/mo, but each minute used on wi-fi, will be deducted from your 500 minute monthly allotment. Whereas if you have an unlimited plan, it is a non-issue.
     
  8. Tangent

    Tangent Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    515
    91
    98
    Actually that was the change that was recently made, WiFi calls don't use your minutes anymore. T-Mobile’s Wi-Fi calling will no longer use in-plan minutes – Android and Me
     
  9. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    I called and confirmed it is free... no ten dollar charge.. I can't however tell if I am using the minutes or not... hard to tell
     
  10. dirtydean12

    dirtydean12 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    if you confirmed it is free then you would only be using minutes when you are using the mobile network for calls instead of whatever wifi you connect too...
     
  11. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    lol they need to get their story straight. i hate getting conflicting info. is it or isnt it free.
     
  12. MonkeyK

    MonkeyK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009

    Jun 22, 2009
    66
    5
    16
    Twin Cities, MN
    Shows up as plan minutes on my usage summary. I have a total of 70 minutes used, with 5 of those T-mo - T-mo (F), and 57 through a wifi hotspot (U).
    My summary says that I have used 65 plan minutes
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Just looked at my account and it says tmobile hotspot 167 minutes used then it says unlimited next to it. But my whenever minutes (plan) minutes says 86/1500 used.. Meaning all my wifi calling has been free.. Saaaaweet

    ALSO UNDER MY SERVICES IT SAYS FREE WIFI CALLING.. MAKE SURE YOU GUYS HAVE CALLED AND ACTIVATED YOUR WIFI CALLING
     
  14. behold_this

    behold_this Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    1,419
    243
    143
    It is free, but it is only compatible with even more, even more plus, and the new calling/data plans. If you want the feature to not use plan mins, you have to get tmo to activate the feature on your account , but it is 100% free.
     
    rwperales likes this.
  15. Contraus

    Contraus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Ok. Dumb question here:
    How do I set up wifi calling? I tried to do it but it looks like you need server info and stuff like that. What gives?
     
  16. blazer743lazer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    i have a question can i use the htc sensations wifi and just not have a sim card in it
    will the phone work without a carrier?
    could i get apps and go on the internet?
    plz reply ASAP thnx
     
  17. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Yes.

    Yes.
     
  18. blazer743lazer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    will wifi work without a carrier?
    and would be required to have a data plan if i
    (for example) get it unlocked and use on att? would i automatically have to pay for data?
    plz reply soon
    - Thanks

    EDIT: also colnago thnx for your first answer
     
  19. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Yes.

    No.

    No.

    EDIT: You're welcome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...