1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi client dumb on Android?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by carrot, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. carrot

    carrot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    61
    0
    15
    GA
    I'm at the hospital and I turned my Wifi ON. The browser can't get to the IP address 1.1.1.1 for the "accept" page to allow the device on the network. But my laptop seems fine (I'm writting this e-mail).

    But also, when Wifi is on but you can't reach the outside network, you can't actually do anything...

    If the Wifi can't reach google.com or something, use 3G so I don't miss all my e-mails with a incorrectly configured wifi.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sghere

    sghere Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    127
    4
    36
    Network Engineer
    IL
    Don't mean to sound sarcastic...but I have no idea what you're trying to get across here. :)

    Are you saying your wifi on the phone "won't" connect to the wireless at the hospital, or it does, but won't use their proxy correctly...

    Not real clear if you're making a statement, or asking a question.


    S
     
  3. mystereon

    mystereon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    That is probably because you would have to set a proxy to access web services, which unfortunately isn't implemented in Android yet. :(
     
  4. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Yeah, you probably need to be able to use a proxy. It's not implemented yet, which really annoys me too because I have to stick with 3G instead of Wi-Fi at school as well now.
     
  5. carrot

    carrot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    61
    0
    15
    GA
    Proxy support, that would make sense but I don't think there is a proxy here, thanks for your reply...

    I would just hope that there would a global check for reaching host a couple time and then the Wifi would go into a mode where it falls back to 3G.

    For example, a wifi router that hangs or not forward connections anymore.

    Android have basically redundancy built in so it can route traffic over wifi or 3G, but doesn't do anything about it.

    I've been hit a home multiple time where my wifi router was working fine with PCs but no more traffic on my Android... Re-associate and then good to go for a few hours.
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Cisco Wireless Controllers typically have a redirect of 1.1.1.1 or 2.2.2.2.
    Try typing in the whole URL http://www.google.com into your browser to see if the redirect works and if you get prompted to accept a certificate. If you get that far, you should be golden.

    Make sure you try all the browsers on your DROID. One may work while others do not.
     
  7. carrot

    carrot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    61
    0
    15
    GA
    The certificate is invalid for sure (well, doesn't have a valid ROOT CA) and the normal browser says that the "web page not available". I tried "dolphi" before but for some reason I didn't like it at all.

    I can't ping 1.1.1.1 from my phone, but can from the laptop. I would need to check the routing table on the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...