1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi connected, but no internet?? Possible solution

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by NetWizard, Mar 9, 2015.

1. NetWizard

NetWizard Lurker
    None

Mar 9, 2015
    I am a network engineer, installer and internet consultant.

This problem of phones having a connection but no internet when connecting over a wifi repeater seems to be a problem for everyone and has plagued me too for a long time now.

I am not going to claim I have THE magic solution but something I have discovered seems to work for me.
    If anyone can try this solution to let us all know if it works for you too, it would be very helpful in diagnosis of this probelm at least. I am looking deeper into this and would love to find the "fix all" remedy.

The problem seems to lie with authentication and dhcp over the two devices. Router and Wfi Repeater.

Try this solution:

1. Before you start with the wifi repeater, go to your main router and set the "cipher type" from TKIP to AES. (This may shorten the range of the wifi a little but a necessary step.)
    Reboot the router.

2. All connected devices will now NOT connect automatically. On PC's and Laptops remove the connection from "managed wireless connections" and "forget" the connection on phones. You will need to reconnect all devices a fresh later.

3. Factory reset your wifi repeater (whatever model)

4. Set up your repeater in "Universal Repeater" Or "Repeater" mode. making no adjustments to anything. Just click default on everything. Don't change the network SID, IP address or anything, It should also be configured to use dhcp as default.

5. Reconect all devices to the wireless network as a fresh start. Don't forget to "forget" any previous networks that are stored on any device or PC or laptop before you start.

Your devices should now all connect and recieve connection to the internet.