1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

WiFi Connection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pdogg79, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. pdogg79

    pdogg79 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hey guys.

    I'm new to this forum, but hopefully I can get some help.

    I have the Samsung captivate and it usually has no problems connecting to WiFi networks but it can't connect to my home network. It recognizes the network but I can't use send/receive any data. My two laptops have no problem connecting to my network but I can't get my phone to. Additionally, my Wii has the same problem. It recognizes the network but can't do anything. Its probably a router problem but their support was useless, so I thought I would try here. Its been driving me crazy!

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    If you're connecting to the router, using the proper security, getting an IP allocated, then it's probably DNS related. I had the same issue with one of our consoles (either the Wii or PS3) and my Captivate. I just changed the Captivate over to a fixed IP and a fixed DNS (I used the free Google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4, but you could hardwire your own ISP values too).
     
  3. rlb4

    rlb4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    253
    12
    38
    NJ
    Is it a Linksys router? Several people including myself have had problems with them. I changed to a D-Link and now both my Captivate and PS3 connect.
     
  4. George0211

    George0211 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    296
    27
    43
    There really does seem to be an issue with wireless modem on this phone.
    My phone connects to my home network just fine every single time, unless I connect to another wireless network somewhere else. After that, I can not connect back to my home network. I have to turn WiFi off and on a few times, make the phone forget all known networks and re-discover them again, restart the phone and it finally works.
     
  5. Terrigno

    Terrigno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    146
    8
    36
    North Carolina
    I dont understand that. I have the Linksys Router with my Cappy and PS3 working fine with it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...