1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

WiFi doesn't work

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Nov 14, 2014.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    So I recently got my phone and I don't know where to set my WiFi to get it working.

    I tried some WiFi that it automatically finds, it says signal very strong etc... but can't connect to anything.

    What do I have to do in order to allow my phone to access the internet wherever I am?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DracZ

    DracZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014

    Nov 15, 2014
    4
    0
    5
  3. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    Welcome to the forums! :)

    Menu button
    system settings
    long press wi-fi (after turning it on if its off)
    it should scan and show a list of available networks

    You can also usually turn wifi on by pulling down the notification bar and pressing the wifi symbol. (Long pressing it also enters wifi settings as above)

    To choose which to connect to press it. If it needs a password it will have displayed a padlock symbol and will ask for the password which you need to enter. Once you have entered a password it will remember it and connect automagically next time you have wifi on within range.

    To connect to the internet wherever you are you may need to turn mobile data on. (even that doesn't work everwhere, but is OK in most cities)

    Hope this helps

    Roger
     
  4. DracZ

    DracZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014

    Nov 15, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    I have to choose a certain network to connect to?
    Is there a way to just automatically connect to free wifi where ever you are?

    Does it cost any money using WiFi?

    Turning on wifi hotspot / tethering works too, does this cost money?
     
  5. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi again

    Wifi is free to use. (there are exceptions such as some airports/hotels that require payment for a time limited password etc) Whoever owns the modem/router providing the signal is paying. Most wifi networks are password protected - you cant use them without the password.

    After you have connected once, your phone will automatically reconnect to the same wifi network when in range (assuming the wifi is turned on). Most phones have a setting which makes the phone tell you when an open (no password) wifi network is available (which you have not connected to before)

    menu button
    system settings
    wifi
    menu button again
    advanced
    check the box

    It may not be exactly that on your phone (but I dont know what phone it is :) )

    Tethering connects your phone to mobile data transmitted by your carrier (which does either cost money or use up your data allowance). The phone then re transmits the data over a wifi network that it creates to allow local devices without mobile data reception (eg laptops and some tablets) to access the internet. If you only want access on your phone, dont use tethering, just use data - see below:

    If you want to connect to the internet where there is no wifi, use mobile data. You enable it in the notification bar pull down. Note that this costs money or uses up your allowance and drains the battery much faster than wifi.

    Roger
     
  6. DracZ

    DracZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014

    Nov 15, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Oh right, so that is what mobile data is for...

    Well, as I'm at home I may as well set up WiFi on my router and use that as it costs nothing, then when I'm away from my area, I could either use mobile data or find a free wifi/hotspot etc...

    Right?

    If I enabled WiFi on my router and used the internet, downloaded apps etc...
    Would that not cost money, but still cost data usage?

    Also another question:
    "Now get 300 minutes, 3,000 texts and all-you-can-eat data for just
     
  7. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi again

    Right? Yes thats right. If you enable wifi on your router it will not cost anything more to connect to the internet on wifi using your router. (assuming your ISP package gives unlimited access). Mobile data usage and wifi usage are completely different. Mobile data is charged by your phone provider, wifi usage by your internet ISP.

    300 minutes of phone calls initiated by you, 3000 texts of up 140 characters ( not MMS with pictures).

    Hope that helps

    Roger
     
  8. DracZ

    DracZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014

    Nov 15, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Going online watching YT or browsing uses up data usage.
    The data usage will go up regardless if the WiFi I am using is free or not?

    Also going off topic here, I don't know if you know much about Pay as You Go stuff...
    On the small package of the PAYG.
    It says
    3p/minute
    2p/text
    1p/MB (Per MB of...?)
    Is that saying that if I were to download a file of 100 MB, that would cost
     
  9. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi again

    Using wifi does not use mobile data and will not cost.

    To see how much data you are using:

    menu button
    system settings
    data usage
    mobile data tab

    this may be different on your phone

    Yes 1p/mb means
     

Share This Page

Loading...