1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi hotspot app for android?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Carbonangel, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. Carbonangel

    Carbonangel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Telecos Engineer
    Hi guys

    As some of you might be aware of the miwi app for the iPhone what allows you to create a hot spot from your iPhone and allows you to sharenthe phones 3G connection

    Is there anything similar for the android platform?
     

    Advertisement

  2. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Pretty sure the phone needs to be rooted to achieve this but it can be done. But dont risk bricking your phone just yet!!

    Froyo is gonna support that natively when it released (rumoured this month)
     
  3. Carbonangel

    Carbonangel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Telecos Engineer
    Ok cool thanks

    I wanna hotspot my desire so I can get some 3G access on my iPad :)
     
  4. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Ipad AND android eh? Ying, Yang etc etc :D :eek:
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    ipad?

    Doesnt this forum have a swear filter?
     
  6. Carbonangel

    Carbonangel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Telecos Engineer
    Unfortunately android don't have a tablet yet so yes, opposites attract :)
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    *cough* Archos *cough* ;)
     
  8. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    I've tried Barnacle & Wireless Tether.

    Neither seem to work properly..

    Wireless at least creates an access point which I can connect to but it doesn't go any further from there. Barnacle didn't do anything.

    I've heard some people get it working but changing the IP on the connecting client but I haven't tried I just want it to work properly :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...