1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support WiFi Hotspot not working properly?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SpiritOTG, May 11, 2014.

  1. SpiritOTG

    SpiritOTG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014

    May 9, 2014
    29
    5
    16
    Hello guys, I have used apps like EasyTether and currently the pro version of PDAnet (I like it much more than EasyTether).

    The thing is, is that no matter what I have tried, I can not ever seem to get the WiFi Hotspot to successfully allow another device to connect. Most often, I am presented with "Failure to obtain IP" on the computer's or PS3's end.

    I have tried using the WiFix Manager before, and to no avail.

    =======================
    SIDE NOTES:
    =======================

    Boost Mobile is my Carrier
    2GB SD EXTERNAL
    Rooted Device (WiFi did not work before root either in the same fashion)

    ========================

    Has anyone else encountered this issue with their Optimus F3? Has anyone fixed it? If so, what was the process you did to make it work?

    All the best and thanks for reading :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    42
    63
    Male
    Texas
  3. neoison

    neoison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014

    Jun 13, 2014
    46
    0
    15
    restore your phone.. use motorchopper then download robaho lg f3 mgr from play store.. if that does not work? I do not know what to tell you.. It worked for me and my phone has the hotspot block from VM..
     
  4. neoison

    neoison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014

    Jun 13, 2014
    46
    0
    15
    Update: on the Robaho F3 MGR tether app. Seems like it needs some work :(. For some reason when the hot spot is active and I put a tablet or laptop to sleep. When I pull them out of sleep the connection is dead. Like its still connected but I must forget the hot spot and reconnect. Weird ! I never had that with any other tethers. Its also not my connection or phone.. Because my phone works fine and I have 6 full bars. Also notice faster speeds on a tablet v3 computer. And I have all my pc updates turned off. Nothing is updating.

    Anyone have any other tether app suggestions?
     
  5. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    Are you sure the phone isn't going into hibernate due to no activity (since the hotspotted devices are asleep) ?
     
  6. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    Just tested with my Mac. Works fine, so its on your end....
     
  7. neoison

    neoison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014

    Jun 13, 2014
    46
    0
    15
    how do you turn hibernate off?
     
  8. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    You can't. Its a function of what is being used. Like I said, I was able to put my mac to sleep and wake it up and it reestablished the connection, so its on your end.
     
  9. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    Also, leaving the hotspot up when not being used can still cause data usage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...