1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wifi Hotspot - Yes, it DOES work. Here's how...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by luxedesignnyc, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. luxedesignnyc

    luxedesignnyc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013

    Apr 14, 2013
    19
    13
    18
    This is the stupidest phone I have ever purchased probably, I am glad it was about $30 - at $30 I am using it this week maybe next then ditching it. So if I manage to get ANYWHERE with the phone past being able to root it already, I will post what I helpful stuff I can, before I move to the next phone. For the life of me I would love to know why Kyocera has locked the bootloaders of their $30 phones - the USD can't be that spectacular to the Yen that it matters to lock a sub $50 phone down? If fact, I would even suggest it's more profitable to have me buy another P.O.S Kyocera phone - which I would if I knew it had an UNLOCKED bootloader - at the $30 price point, I'm happy to flash it till it's bricked probably, and go get another one...

    NOTE: THIS WILL 100% WORK FOR YOU AND YOU WILL NOT GET STUCK IN ADHOC MODE IF YOU FOLLOW THIS EXACTLY.

    Ok, well so I am almost certain you can't get this to work unless you've gotten root first. It *could* work without root but I've never attempted to find out? Assume you need it.

    Once you are successfully rooted do the following and don't deviate from what I say here:

    1. Download the latest Treve WIFI APK - here

    2. You need to open the Wifi app, DO NOT START tethering or click the wifi symbol AT ALL on the initial launch. First, context/menu click to get the menu up, go to settings and set the settings to the following. You MUST set the FIRST setting I put here at the top of the list FIRST. You WONT see a couple of these options in the settings menu UNLESS you set the device-profile FIRST!!!!!!!!!

    Device-Profile - Generic ICS/JB wlan0 AGAIN SET THIS FIRST
    Setup Method - Auto
    Fallback Tether - YES
    Send Netd Max Client - YES
    Enable Wifi encryption - YES
    WiFi Driver Reload - YES
    (don't check the second one though)
    Keep Alive / Connection Check - YES
    MSS Clamping - YES
    Routing fix - YES

    Exit settings, then turn the hotspot on for the first time. It will install the binaries and config, and should start for you without any errors. By default the app gives your hotspot an SSID AndroidTether and pw of abcdefghijklm.

    Let me know how this works guys.
     

    Advertisement

    macklooney and KML9279 like this.
  2. KML9279

    KML9279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    I have been trying for weeks to root this phone or Wi-Fi tether it or even Bluetooth tether it with my Samsung Galaxy 3 Tablet. This is the first thing to work!! Thank you :)
     
  3. chavezezequiel

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

    Dec 11, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Male
    Las Cruces, NM
    I cant seem find the mss clamping setting. Was it removed?
     
  4. lnr4e

    lnr4e Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    83
    18
    18
    Male
    Wichita, KS
    Its not there but still works with errors but haven't had a problem connecting to it. I had to turn off the WiFi encryption otherwise couldn't get some things to connect hope this helps.
     
  5. cherrybomb89

    cherrybomb89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013

    Nov 17, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    I got root on the phone and downloaded the app you provided, set it up just how you said, had the same issue with the mss clamping as the others. The hotspot turns on and shows up as an available connection on my laptop, but when I try to connect it says its unable to, and I can't for the life of me figure out why... please help
     
  6. Bstressfree

    Bstressfree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013

    May 21, 2013
    58
    9
    16
    Male
    Cherry bomb... go into the TrevEmod settings and disable "WiFi Encryption".
     
  7. Hackubus

    Hackubus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    23
    2
    16
    Male
    Retail
    Bennington, VT
    Google Trevemod 3.4 and download trevemod 3.4 experimental1.apk then install as outlined above.This will allow you to enable password protect your connection when you select enable wifi-encryption and select password without error messages or crashing your phone.
    P.S. some options outlined above may not show up in this newer version to enable so just select the ones that you can as outlined aboved and it should work.
     
    gm3114 likes this.
  8. tamine

    tamine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014

    Sep 25, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    dude i have some trouble in following your steps there is no mss in my setting thats the only problem... help me up..
     
  9. KellyDraves

    KellyDraves Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014

    Dec 6, 2014
    147
    31
    53
    Female
    I FREAKING LOVE YOU THANK YOU SO MUCH THIS WORKED AND WAS THE ONLY THING THAT WORKED FOR MY ROOTED PHONE I seriously cannot thank you enough... thank you so much...
     
    Hackubus likes this.
  10. KellyDraves

    KellyDraves Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014

    Dec 6, 2014
    147
    31
    53
    Female
    Lol, so I had to buy a new phone. I rooted it and then went back to this guide for the tethering thing. This time, I am not able to set up my own password and SSID. I was able to on my last phone with this, though. Tethering also starts with errors but will still tether. Any tips on how to clear all this up? By the way, in the "show log", the error was "loading the wifi driver"
     
    #10 KellyDraves, Apr 9, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015
  11. KellyDraves

    KellyDraves Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014

    Dec 6, 2014
    147
    31
    53
    Female
    Never mind, I got it haha
     

Share This Page

Loading...