1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root WIFI Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wyelkins, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    Can someone post the Tether app that came with the Boost phone. Mine did not come with one. I assume that this will require root.

    Unless someone knows another app that does not.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mako 230

    Mako 230 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012

    Mar 2, 2012
    101
    30
    43
    Clearwater, Fl
    WiFi tether for root users. Yes you need to be rooted. Last time I looked I didn't see it at play store. Google it. I know for a fact ver. 3.2 beta works on ics and jb.
    Also there was a thread about tether w/o root on this forum using apex launcher. You can try that.
     
    wyelkins likes this.
  3. Guspeed

    Guspeed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    927
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

  4. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
  5. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    That is what I used on the Prevail. Not rooted yet on HTC.
     
  6. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    wyelkins likes this.
  7. htcphan

    htcphan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2013

    May 26, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    construction
    florida
    is this file for JB. i just done the ultimate guide to everything for this phone, reinstalled wifi for root (even though it no longer showed up on playstore) Set it on ICS/JB Lan 1 setting. got no errors, showed up on networks list but no data transmission

    edit: i got wifitether for root to work on rooted s-off new JB stock rom to work by changing profile to Lan0 and checking on the option send netd max client cmd.
     
    wyelkins likes this.
  8. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    Cool! This is good info for when I do root.
     
  9. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Ok, I've got a problem. I can use the wifi hotspot to connect to my pc and laptop. Both connect just fine. It won't work with my tablet though. It says connecting, then goes to obtaining ip then back to connecting. It never connects.
     
  10. htcphan

    htcphan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2013

    May 26, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    construction
    florida
    have you confirmed working internet on pc and laptop? have you done any recent changes to your encryption settings on wifi? if yes you must delete connection profile(forget) and attempt to re-establish a connection to get the password prompt again. Ive had mine do something similar when i changed connection password to wifi and didnt update tablet
     
  11. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Yes. It works fine one pc and laptop. This is a problem I've ran in to with the tablet before when switching ROMS. I have a feeling it's the CM10 I'm running on my tablet.
     
  12. josue338

    josue338 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    16
    2
    16
    Male
    high school student
    Houston tx
    http://db.tt/mPVGsGjy

    This version of WiFi tether should work with tablets too just change profile to generic ICS/JB (wlan0)
     
    irishobo and wetbiker7 like this.
  13. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal


    Thanks. I'll give it a try. :D

    SCORE!!!!!
     
  14. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    Bro, I finally got around to trying the WiFi Tether app you posted and man oh man....... IT WORKS LIKE A FREAKING CHARM!!!! :D:D:D

    EXCELLENT CONTRIBUTION TO THE HTC ONE SV COMMUNITY!!!!

    I am one happy camper right now buddy!!!! I had taken my tablet with me the other day to use while on breaks during a County software training class. I figured it would work with my SV's hotspot since it had worked with all the computers at the house. Even tried WiFi Tether for Root Users since it would connect to my tablet via my LG Marquee. (WRONG!!!)

    I hooked it up and waited on it to connect. It went through the motions saying it was obtaining the IP and all that noise. It continually went from obtaining IP to connecting right back to obtaining IP, etc, etc........... It never connected! :mad:

    THANK YOU so very much for helping me get this tablet working via my SV's 3G!!! The TF300T Transformer running CM10.1 can be a finicky booger when it comes to using WiFi tether apps. This one you provided worked PERFECTLY!! If it'll work with my TF300T, I'm pretty sure it'll work with any device. LOL

    This find of yours just made my day bro! If I could click the THANKS tab a few more times, I would. lol :ridinghorse:
     
  15. Topken

    Topken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    206
    18
    38
    thanks that works with my nook tablet running CM10.1.2 it's the first thing to work with the nook tablet. Eventing else sticks at authenticating if I have wpa2 active or at obtaining ip address if I don't have it protected.
     
  16. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Yup. Definitely a great find. Nice to have Internet with my tablet again via my phones hotspot. Yup, I'm definitely a happy camper. :D:D

    Really weird that the stock hotspot worked for all my computers though. Lol. Oh well, it is what it is and it's working again now. That's all that really matters. :D:D
     
  17. Bdead989

    Bdead989 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014

    Feb 20, 2014
    21
    6
    16
    Does this wifi tether still work, I have been trying with no success.
    HTC One SV Boost Mobile
    S-off, ROOT, Stock Rom, Sickle Kernel

    I had WIFI-Routher.apk in the system files already but not WIFI-tether.apk placed that in and apex will show and it comes up my pc can connect. No data but I haven't bought from boost yet due to I like the Sence theme and want to have an app I can view and open without needing a launcher

    I have also tried the updated wifi tether which is in play store again and still no go

    **** Undate --- Fixxed and working with app at top given out.... My phones stock wifi hotspot would not turn off had to reinstall apex open and turn back off.****
    Thanks for the awesome find and help for others to know in the community :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...