1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi issue

Discussion in 'Computers' started by carmendiva, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. carmendiva

    carmendiva Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    2,556
    118
    163
    Female
    Intern, Model, Acting, Dancer
    New Yor
    Okay this happened before on my HP laptop and now this new laptop that i have is happening again.

    the computer is not connecting to wifi....it randomly happened before on my old HP.

    I just got this laptop as a gift and now it is not connecting to wifi.
    It was connected fine yesterday and now today it is not connecting.

    I've pressed the button on the computer that is for wireless connections(F2) yet nothing happens.

    it simply says No connections are available.

    Problem is...Connections are available
    Both my Droid Bionic and Xperia Play are actively connected to wifi and show about 10 other connections.

    I did a system restore but it is not doing anything.
    i'm usually not this dumbfounded with computers but this is a bit annoying.
    Any help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. andruoid

    andruoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,424
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    1,424
    1,301
    343
    Male
    BC, Canada
    What model HP? Does the wifi hardware in Device manager show as operating correctly? Have you tried going to their site to see if they have an updated wifi driver?

    If you open a command prompt and type: ipconfig -all ...what IP is shown?

    ...give me a an hour to reply again as I'm installing linux on a system here.
     
  3. carmendiva

    carmendiva Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    2,556
    118
    163
    Female
    Intern, Model, Acting, Dancer
    New Yor
    The HP computer i had(it has a motherboard issue) was a HP G series laptop(G72 i believe)
    so i can't use it anymore.

    I now have a Gateway P series FX laptop that my brother gave me and the same thing is happening again. I can't use wifi.

    I can't use my college's network, my friends network, Starbucks...any network even though my smartphones are able to see all available networks.

    I did the cmd prompt thing you said but it's not showing an IP address(i may not be seeing it).

    I also own a Macbook pro and i never had an issue with Wifi with it but this is the second laptop i've owned that has given me this problem. So i am not sure if is me or something else(probably me lol)
     
  4. carmendiva

    carmendiva Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    2,556
    118
    163
    Female
    Intern, Model, Acting, Dancer
    New Yor
    Okay it is safe to say that I am a complete dumbass lol.
    There is a switch on the computer that slides from on to off.
    Apparently, I must have slid it off by mistake.

    Thanks for your help<3
     
  5. andruoid

    andruoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,424
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    1,424
    1,301
    343
    Male
    BC, Canada
    Initially I was going to ask if there was a physical toggle switch for the wifi. However, when you mention F2 key I assumed your laptop toggled wifi on/off via a F2 + another key combo. Eg: mine is Fn + F4. BTW, I've done that before as well. :D

    Glad its resolved!

    -
     

Share This Page

Loading...