1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi issues after root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Telengo, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. Telengo

    Telengo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Belgium
    Hi everybody,

    I have recently rooted my Samsung Galaxy S2 and am now having problems with my wifi. It seems to activate OK and will connect to networks but will not pass any data. No applications will sync or connect to the internet etc. But will do so over 3G no problems, the moment wifi activates they all stop and time out.

    It is my first Android phone and I was a bit unsure about the practice of rooting, and I made a bit of cock up. I first flashed it with the XEU (generic UK/EU) firmware thinking this was the CF_Root. Then when that did nothing I found another thread and located the correct KF3 kernel and stock kernel and rooted the phone no problems.

    But since then the wifi has refused to work. And I really don't know what to do to get it to work.

    Does anybody have any ideas?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    Rooting a phone shouldn't have any real effect other than allowing root acces.

    It is easy enough to unroot the phone be reinstalling the stock kernel so try this and see if it still happens. I may be wrong, but I'm a little sceptical that rooting would do this as long as you used the correct kernel.
     
  3. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC

    Can you dial *#1234#

    What does it say?

    I think you have a kernel mismatch.
     
  4. Telengo

    Telengo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Belgium
    First to the mods, sorry for posting in the wrong section. :(

    It seems that the Wi-Fi does actually still work, but something I did not notice before was that it is sat there with "Obtaining IP address". I set a static address on the phone and was able to connect. After getting a few hits on google about it although none seem to have a fix as to why it is refusing to use DHCP.

    I have been unable to test another Wi-Fi yet as there are none at work and all the ones near my place are all locked so unable to connect anyway.

    My thoughts that it is the phone is because it worked before and my netbook has no problems with it. But it is a piece of freebie junk that I will replace (more quickly now) at some point but maybe be possible that it is the Wi-Fi that could be also a cause.

    The information on the phone is:
    PDA: I9100XWKF3
    Phone: I9100XXKE7
    CSC: I9100XEUKD1
    Build info: thu Jun 9 18:16:44 KST 2011

    Thanks
     
  5. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,659
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,659
    5,866
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Could I just ask...

    1. What network are you on?

    2. What kernel you are using?
    (for kernel go to Settings > About phone > Kernel version)
     
  6. Telengo

    Telengo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Belgium
    Hey,

    My network is BASE (Belgium).
    Kernel is: 2.6.35.7-I9100XWKF3-CL276555

    I was at the inlaws last night and it connected to their wi-fi, was a bit slow at sorting itself out but worked fine. Still does not connect to mine at home but I guess that is actually my wi-fi box rather than the phone.

    It just happened to give up on connecting the moment after I rooted the thing.

    If anybody knows why it might randomly give up using DHCP then let me know, but otherwise everything seems OK for the moment.
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,659
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,659
    5,866
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Hi Telengo,

    What I am about to suggest is radiacal but should solve your problems and give you the latest firmware with UK and Belgian language.

    I assume that you have contacts, calendar, etc; synced with Google.

    Since you rooted, eventually, with CF Root you should have CWM (ClockWorkMod), BusyBox and SuperUser installed in your app drawer.

    1. I am suggesting you do a full wipe of the handset by going to...

    Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset

    2. I then suggest downloading

    http://sicopat.fr/I9100/ROMs/BASE_ODEX_XXKH3_AMP_NIN205.zip

    which is a stable KH3 ROM and virtually stock. Install this in the root area of your SDCard (NOT external SDCard).

    3. Using CWM, reboot into recovery and select : Install ZIP from sdcard > Choose ZIP to install > navigate to your ZIP > Flash and then reboot when finished.

    4. You should then sync your phone with your Google account to restore Contacts, calendar, etc: as well as connecting to the Market and redownloading your app's and installing. Your paid app's should be automatically installed but you may have to re-download the free ones (so make a note of them before starting this).

    5. Do not be tempted to do a restore from a backup as this could cause problems.

    6. There are some mod's and themes you may wish to download for this ROM. Please read the 2nd post carefully before doing so:-

    [ROM][20/08][KH3] SicOpaT's ROM BASE ODEXED + MODs (APM,BLN,HOME FIX ...) - xda-developers


    This may seem, as I mentioned before, radical but it is designed to give you the latest firmware with a clean start. I am aware that others may disagree with me on such a draconian approach but in my experience, a little effort now will save you a lot of time and trouble later.

    I hope this helps.
     
    Telengo likes this.
  8. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Sound advice as per usual. :)
    Just wondering, any reason why you chose Sicopat's rom over the others?
     
  9. Telengo

    Telengo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Belgium
    Thank you very much Ironass for the post/help. I am totally with you on the approach, I have always gone that way with computer OS installs etc in the past anyway.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...