1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support wifi issues....is it android???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aleicgrant, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    so I previously had an evo that I ended up getting rid of for two reasons.

    battery life and very poor wifi reception.

    I went back to an iphone 3gs and then iphone 4 ( I am not a fanboy)

    so now I have decided to go back to android just to give it a shot.
    while I see the battery is better, the wifi signal is still abysmal for me.

    either iphone always had 4 to 5 bars, the evo and now the vibrant, one to two max.

    anything I am missing in terms of settings to get better wifi?
     

    Advertisement

  2. vud911

    vud911 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    214
    11
    38
    Uh...I have full bars? So it is you?
     
  3. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    ok so then what rationale can you use to explain and iphone have 5 bars and the vibrant 1?

    btw I am using a Linksys E3000 router with WPA2 for security
     
  4. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    If we learned anything from Antennagate, it's don't trust Apple's signal strength meters. :rolleyes:

    What encryption protocol do you use? I've found WPA2 on 802.11N to give the best range/throughput, WEP is always the worst.
     
  5. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    Hey there, hope I can set your mind at ease a little. First, a different topic, lets just talk about bars in general. It appears the Vibrant does not report bars correctly, especially the 3G signal bar. Either that or it has a hard time picking up a 3G signal. Regardless, even with zero bars I get 3G service and I am able to make phone calls.

    Next, wifi bars, I've noticed on my phone the wifi bars suck also, I get maybe 2 bars if I'm lucky. But you know what, wifi still works.

    So I have a question, even with 1 bar, does your wifi work? If the answer is yes, then don't worry about the bars so much. Ignore them, the algorithm is probably off.

    *by the way Steve Jobs himself admitted that the algorithm to every iPhone's signal bar was being computed incorrectly*

    Bars don't mean anything, as long as you get wifi, thats all that should matter.

    So again, one last time, if you are getting wifi at accetable speeds, then ignore the number of bars. A firmware upgrade will probably fix the algorithm that displays the number of bars. Enjoy your phone.

    If you answer NO, NO you don't get any wifi at all, zero, browser doesn't work, nothing none ziltch...you get the point. Then exchange your phone.
    PS.... you may want to update the firmware on your wireless router. That should also improve any signal coming from your router. Router companies are always releasing new firmware. Infact I just flashed a new firmware on my wireless router a few days ago.
     
  6. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    I appreciate the comments from everyone. I will say that wifi on the iphone is very fast compared to the vibrant

    I am using WPA2 Personal. channel width 20mhz only and channel 11
     
  7. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    I'm no RF expert but I gained about 100 ft of useable range with the directional antenna on the left. It used to end at the kitchen, now it goes across the backyard to the other side of the pool where I smoke my stogies. :cool:

    Hawking Technologies


    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  8. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    3 Questions:

    1) whats a stogie?
    2) whats that white looking thing hanging on the left
    3) You have that strange contrapment hanging inside one of your walls in your home?
     
  9. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    Dude, try google. It's useful.
     
  10. Veetus

    Veetus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    How much do those run?
     
  11. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    I think I paid $50 at Fry's.
     
  12. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    can you run the wires through your wall and have the antenna up in the attack?
     
  13. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    Sure, I could... but Feng Shui is for douche bags. Do you seriously HAVE to hijack every thread in this forum?
     
  14. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    no i just want one of those, but I don't want to hang it on the wall, wanted to know if I can put it in the atic thats all.
     
  15. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    So just to be clear, all that indignation over me hanging that "contraption" on a wall in my home was your way of saying that you want one? Is that right?
     
  16. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    I guess it came out wrong, I actually do want one, I guess I meant if I hang that up on my wall people who come over will be like "what the heck is that" sorry didn't mean anything negative.

    It would be cool to have something like this that boosts cell phone signals, like a little mini cell tower.
     
  17. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    Well I'm all about function over form. People are free to hide their wireless routers behind their computer monitor, but I've got the strongest signal on the block bar none.

    As for cell phone boosters, I'm thinking of trying a zBoost repeater... T-Mo and AT&T both suck at my house.

    YouTube - zBoost Setup
     
  18. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    nice, any reviews on that? any word if it really works? so if thats boosts my signal, I'll get 3G through my house?
     
  19. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    Yeah, that's the idea. Where ever you get the best signal, most likely on your roof, is where you mount the main antenna. That signal gets repeated throughout the house and your phone latches onto it. The better the signal your phone gets, the longer the phone's battery life gets as well, since it doesn't have to transmit at high power to look for a signal. Reviews on Amazon look very good if you filter through the noise of the not so technically inclined.

    Sorry to the OP for the hijack.
     
  20. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    687
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    687
    31
    68
    Las Vegas, NV
    SamsungVibrant likes this.
  21. PlowRox

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    116
    4
    36
    Rock Mover
    Climax Kansas

    I know this probably made sense at the time he/it/they typed it but.....

    WIFI is WIFI b/g/n it doesn't taste/work any different/better if its linksys or starbucks or whatever the WIFI box your hooked up to is called!

    Now as to whether or not your device has issues with where your at [inside a box 2 doors down etc ] too many variables exist for any one here to say why....

    Now if you want to talk about the difference's in devices....then your on the right track. But the standard called WIFI is not the problem.

    Even the software that reads the standard part set thats inside the phone can affect it.

    Just my 2 bits !

    :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...