1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support WiFi network not showing up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wtherrell, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. wtherrell

    wtherrell Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    371
    34
    43
    North Carolina
    When the phone searches for WiFi it comes up with several nearby weak ones but not my strong 4 bar home network. Meanwhile, my Samsung Omnia and my Dell laptop in the same position in the house both see the network just fine and show maximum bars.
    SSID is broadcast. The phone just doesn't even see this strong nearby network. Need some help on this one.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wtherrell

    wtherrell Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    371
    34
    43
    North Carolina
    No suggestions at all? So, I have the only one that does this? Seems to work fine, otherwise.
     
  3. wtherrell

    wtherrell Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    371
    34
    43
    North Carolina
    Try this yourself. Apparently the 'Nate won't recognize or report any WiFi network SSID name that contains a space. My network name was two words with space in between. Went in and changed SSID to remove the space and immediately the Nate found the network.

    Strange. It's the only device I have encountered that has this behavior.
     
  4. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Hmm interesting mine has no space either. So assume all is well now? BTW, how does your wifi speed compare with other devices you have. Some of us like me are noticing I can get speeds that nearly match my max speeds of my connection. But some people even standing right next to their routers are only getting about half of what they could/should
     
  5. tystevens

    tystevens Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    86
    4
    16
    SLC, Utah
    If I'm sitting at my computer desk, I'm getting virtually the same speed on Speedtest on the SF as I get on my desktop (which is also running on wifi, since the phone outlet is across the room from my desk).
     
  6. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    And if you move 50 ft away or so does it cut in half?
     
  7. wtherrell

    wtherrell Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    371
    34
    43
    North Carolina
    54 Mbps on all 3 Devices.

    I downloaded WiFi Manager and now the nate can see SSID with spaces. Don't know if this fixed something or what.
     

Share This Page

Loading...