1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

wifi not working on hisense sero 7 pro

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by SubtleBrick, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. SubtleBrick

    SubtleBrick Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012

    we received a few of these tablets for christmas ... on one of them, the wifi button is grey and completely disabled. you cant click it. you cant swipe it to turn on the wifi. you cant do anything.

    i've done three hard resets and still nothing. no change whatsoever. i've been trying to contact the company for three weeks. they won't help at all. they originally said they were sending me a box to send me a new crappy one but that was three weeks ago and haven't heard anything since. (wrote them five emails and have called numerous times to just be hung up on)

    anyways, i thought i'd try to solve it on my own. these things aren't usable at all without a wifi connection. i have another of the exact same model and it works fine. two computers, lots of tvs and other devices all running from our wifi as well. it's not our router ...it's simply this tablet.

    just won't let you turn the wifi on. any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,055
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,055
    1,018
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    You said wifi button....what is a Wi-Fi button?
    have you tried to enable wifi from settings.?
     
  3. SubtleBrick

    SubtleBrick Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012

  4. SubtleBrick

    SubtleBrick Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012

    mmk. well ... the "button" is usually under settings. it is NEXT to the spot where it says "wifi". usually has "on/off" on it. ya know, the thingymabobber that you "slide" normally to toggle the wifi.

    as i stated in the post, that "button" is disabled and grey.

    do you honestly help people on these forums? or are you here to learn. :(
     
  5. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,055
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,055
    1,018
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
  6. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,055
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,055
    1,018
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    I'm sorry for not reading your mind to know what you meant by "wifi button". For all I knew you were pressing an oem toggle in the homescreen. That's why I asked what you meant by that term.

    I've helped plenty and never been insulted before for trying. Your response is truly unique in that respect. I'm sure people will be falling over themselves for the chance to help you out when they see how you respond. Good luck to you.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    +1
    Apologise or expect nothing
     
    electricpete likes this.
  8. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,055
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,055
    1,018
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Thanks funky.

    I'll chalk it up to misunderstanding. Easy to type the first thing that comes into your mind when you read a post by another member that seems silly. That's what I did also in my response. But it's better to just move on and be productive. The fact is that we all try to help each other with whatever we can. I personally don't spent a lot of time thinking about whether my response is the perfect response... I offer what I can and move on. When I ask a question I hope others feel the same. I'd rather hear whatever suggestions and clarifications and potentially irrelevant suggestions the responders may have (considering they don't know my background) than to demand a single immediate perfect response (which will probably never materialize) and in the process exclude other discussion which just might possibly stumble onto a single crucial relevant detail.

    So, another suggestion. Maybe obvious but since you haven't said anything I'm going to throw it out there: Try toggling airplane mode on and off if you haven't already.
     
  9. abuzz89

    abuzz89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 1, 2014

    May 1, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    I'm having the same issue. Here's the breakdown:

    Other than the wi-fi not working, the tablet works perfectly fine. The switch that turns the wi-fi on and off under Settings is shaded, as if to indicate that it can't be turned on. I've tried resetting the tablet. I tried toggling in and out of airplane mode like Electricpete suggested to no avail.

    As I said, everything else on the tablet still works just as it did before. I can listen to music, watch videos, run my emulators and whatnot with no problems; it's almost as if there's a faulty connection to the wi-fi antenna or something. I'm nowhere near being an expert though, so before I open it up I wanted to get some thoughts from everyone else.

    I hope everyone is having a good day and I appreciate any and all help :D
     
  10. Jubbahey

    Jubbahey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    2
    2
    6
    Hi,

    @ electricpete....I did automatically assume you were being sarcastic too...."what is a wifi button?"

    But the response was a little UNsubtle.

    As far as the problem with our Sero7 is concerned, I had the same thing, until I followed your explicitly simple solution, which surprised me by working.

    After a hard reset, luckily not much on the tablet, nothing seemed to work and there was no connection to the internet, not even on navigation. Tried your on/off setting for flight mode and voila ! (FM wasn't even on in the first place)

    So I bow down to your Zen Buddhism of Kernal Healing. Many thanks, my wife will stop moaning at me now. :)
     
    electricpete likes this.
  11. Doan Bao

    Doan Bao Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014

    thank for question and answer, i have the same problem
     
  12. shannon795

    shannon795 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014

    Nov 26, 2014
    1
    0
    15
    Hi I just got this tablet Hisense sero 7 pro a couple weeks ago and it feels like the screen is lifting and now it won't connect to wifi either. I've tried the hard shut down a few times. The Grey on and off switch in settings won't do anything. It did turn to on but didn't turn blue it stayed Grey and said connecting to wifi. But never did. If anyone knows what else I could do please help. My son is so sad he can't use his tablet. Thanks so much!
     
  13. Jubbahey

    Jubbahey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    2
    2
    6
    Sounds like your tablet is about to break permanently, take it or send it back for a replacement. If the screen is parting company then all manner of things may be going wrong under the hood.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  14. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,025
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,025
    13,143
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Sounds like it's a duff, probably best RMA it for repair, replacement or refund.
     
  15. Haywyre

    Haywyre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    I have the same problem. My wifi is turned on and connected to the source but the symbol that shows your signal for the wifi is grey. Is says connected but the wifi Doesn't work. I can't reset a router because i am using a hotspot on my phone. What should i do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...