1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi On The Desire - Connected But No Data?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ph0rce, May 28, 2010.

  1. ph0rce

    ph0rce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hi there,

    Sorry of this has been dealt with before but I did try & search the first few pages of the sub forum.

    I've had my desire for around a month now & had no real problems with it, flashed it with a stock rom initially & then rooted it a couple of days after the root was released.

    When I woke up this morning I was connected to my Wifi network but when I tried to load a webpage, nothing happens, it comes up with the stock 'Web page not available' page. I tried a couple of web pages but got the same response, I thought it might be my Wifi network but when I got to work, exactly the same thing happens.

    I can connect via GPRS when I disable the Wifi with no problem.

    I've been using Y5 Battery Saver for the past two weeks, not sure if that's relevant.

    Is this a standard error / known bug, how would I go about fixing this, not having Wifi is obviously a bit of pain! [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance,

    ph0rce

    EDIT

    OK, installed a Terminal emulator over 3G & ran a couple of commands, including dmesg.

    From the output of dmesg it looks like the Wifi connects but then something goes wrong, here's a brief transcript:

    pfn: set ssid = **************
    Link event
    Link UP
    Enter set packet filter
    start to add pkt filter 101
    wds: 0021 @ 01
    qmi: wds: network stopped
    rmnet_stop()
    wds: 0022 @ ff
    qmi: wds: DISCONNECTED

    If this is any use, I'm happy to try other commands.

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Check your password is right and pairing mode is enabled if you have a bt hub or livebox
     
  3. ph0rce

    ph0rce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    No password needed, we use MAC filtering.

    Tried on two different Netgear routers, same problem.

    Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Have you whitelisted the MAC?
     
  5. ph0rce

    ph0rce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Yeah, all taken care of. As I said, had the phone for over a month now & been connected to both networks every day for that time.

    Powering off & leaving battery out hasn't done anything either, very frustrating.
     
  6. ph0rce

    ph0rce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    OK, I think I've managed to work out what the problem is; the Desire doesn't seem to be able to use DNS to look up hostnames. When I try to ping Google using a terminal app, I don't get any response but when I try to ping the IP of Google directly, it returns straight away. I have confirmed this by visiting the IP address in my web browser & it does bring up the Google homepage.

    Is there a way to check what DNS settings my phone is currently using or failing that, force it to re-request the settings?

    Cheers
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    It'd more likely be the router not allocating the connection correctly for the phone.

    What encryption are you using? If you use the app from market "wifi analyzer" do you see any channel congestion? Change the channel to the one recommended by that app.

    The Desire isnt tolerant of channel signal congestion.
     
  8. laney88

    laney88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    I'm having the same problem since yesterday also.

    Would be great to find a fix :/
     
  9. laney88

    laney88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Got it working again by unplugging the power from my wireless router, happy days.

    Hope you can resolve your issue also.
     
  10. DannyVandal

    DannyVandal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    I reset the router, this restored internet access to my Desire, PITA but it worked.
     
  11. drbell

    drbell Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    I agree with nx1977. I've had the same problem. Desire tells me I'm connected to WiFi but no data downloads. I've just installed "WiFi Analyzer" from the Marketplace, it's a great app. It tells you which channels are congested and which is free (or least congested). Gives signal strength and all sorts. I've just retuned my router to channel 3 from 11 following info on wifi analyzer and Desire got connected and downloaded stuff straightaway.

    Give it a go.
     
    nx1977 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...