1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support WiFi Only!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WebghostDK, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. WebghostDK

    WebghostDK Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Hello All.

    I'm in this situation that i just bought a HTC Magic G2 from UK, and i live in Denmark.
    The phone is Unlocked, which means that i can keep using my current Sim-card, which provides me with free text messages and cheaper calls.
    BUT!
    The GPRS/3G prices are high, so my question is:
    Can i keep using my Sim-Card and just say "Screw the GPRS prices, i can live with that when im sending only MMS messages" and just go with the Wifi signal?
    Basicly using GPRS only when i send MMS, and still use the same features on the phone, just by using WiFi signals.
    Also if there's no Wifi spots in the current area, does it automaticly go to GPRS? (i dont want it to do that :(

    Thank you in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    The only way I can think of not having GPRS or Edge working ... is to put the phone in Airplane mode ..
     
  3. WebghostDK

    WebghostDK Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Ok i hear you.

    But putting it in Flymode, won't that also make it impossible to send SMS's, using the Wifi, receiving calls etc. ?
    How about if i do not enter any WAP/GPRS information for the Magic, couldn't that do the trick?
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    Yes FlyMode/AirPlane ... shuts down ALL radios...

    If you can zero the GPRS that might work ... (i dont have a Magic ...so not sure ??)
     
  5. WebghostDK

    WebghostDK Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    From what i have found out, using google.com ;)
    If i change all the APN adresses to something random that doesnt exist, then it cannot use the GPRS/EDGE and only the WiFi (if its turned on of course).

    Great =)
     
  6. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    134
    9
    36
    Scientist
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    That'll work but I can't see a separate section listing the connection setting for the MMS data connection, so you might well lose MMS capability by altering those settings
     
  7. stongest

    stongest Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    Did anyone get this to work? I gave my girl friend my old Dream and she does not have a data plan. So only wants to use Wifi and voice on it.

    This is a roger HTC Dream phone.
     
  8. Knutfreddy

    Knutfreddy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    39
    0
    15
    use the app Data Controller from the Market. It will block your phone from using GPRS/EDGE.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...