1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General WIFI Problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aamosh, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    I have a problem regarding crdroid 12.1. let me make it much clearer,
    Previously before I changed the setting from DHCP to STATIC, my device used to find the device but would not connect to it rather would just show something like saved.
    Now as I have changed the setting from DHCP to STATIC my device gets connected to the network but the internet does not work. NOTE-THE BOTH "PREVIOUS" AND "NOW" THING HAPPENS ONLY WHEN I MOVE A BIT FARTHER FROM THE ROUTER.
    Please help me ASAP.
     

    Advertisement

  2. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,912
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,912
    4,161
    708
    Illinois
    What brand and model is your wireless router? Also, where is it located? On a table out in the open, or under a desk. or tucked in between anything?
    By '...but the Internet does not work' are you referring to using a web browser where no sites are accessible or that apps like Google Play or your email app can't access anything online?
     
  3. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    my router is tplink tlwr740n v-4.24
    The router has no problem as all the other mobiles and device gets connected to the wifi no matter where the use their device.. but on my S3 i find the wifi i click connect and then the wifi gets connected but i cannot access internet. like nothing can be accessed its like the device is blocking something.... to be more clear my device only works in the room where my router is located...
    NOTE-IT IS NOT BECAUSE OF POOR INTERNET CONNECTION BECAUSE IF I TAKE MOTHERS' GRNAD PRIME TO THE PLACE WHERE MY DEVICE DOESNOT WORK THE GRAND PRIME WORKS PERFECTLY FINE...
     
    #3 Aamosh, Feb 29, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016
  4. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,116
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,116
    10,780
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Just so we're starting off from the same page, when you have your device configured for a STATIC IP address, are you using a valid IP address for your network? Are you able to access any other device on your local network?
     
  5. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    yes i am able to access other device in my network... please help its really frustrating to be able to use WIFI just inside a room where router is present...
     
  6. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,116
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,116
    10,780
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    In that case, it sounds like something may be screwy with the wifi module(s) in the ROM you're using. Have you tried using a stock or alternate ROM to make sure it's not a hardware problem?
     
    svim likes this.
  7. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,912
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,912
    4,161
    708
    Illinois
    Just as a test, using whichever browser on your S3 type in: http://74.125.224.72
    That's one of Google's IP addresses, it should just take you the standard Google search page. Since your TP-Link appears to be OK and other devices are working with your home WiFi the problem sounds like it's with your S3's WiFi connectivity. Even if it's getting a valid IP address from your router, that doesn't necessarily mean it can access the Internet if there's something messed up with it's DNS. Are other other apps like Google Play or your mail app that also require online access working OK with your WiFi? Also, I forgot to ask if your browser is working OK when you're using your cellular (mobile data)? Anyway, if that IP address above works try installing a DNS changing app like this one to your phone:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.emrekoc.dnschanger
     
    codesplice likes this.
  8. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    yes i am perfectly able to use google services when i connect to wifi... BUT sadly when the router and i are in the same room.. although the signal reception is very best almost full signal reception still no internet connection... :( :( please help me...
     
  9. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    It did not work :( so what is the problem that i may be having??
     
  10. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,912
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,912
    4,161
    708
    Illinois
    So if you're just having a problem accessing the Internet using a web browser, are you using the default browser that came with your phone or have your installed a third-party browser?
    If you're using the default browser, there are several really good alternatives. I like Firefox but Chrome and Puffin are very popular too.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.android.chrome

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mozilla.firefox

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.cloudmosa.puffinFree
     
  11. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    I have google chrome installed :) still cannot access the given address ...
     
  12. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,912
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,912
    4,161
    708
    Illinois
    Have you tried going into your Settings >> Account manager, selecting Google Chrome, tapping the 'Force quit' and then the 'Clear cache' buttons, and restarting the Chrome app?
     
  13. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    yes i tried your method still no success.... what i want is to be able to use the internet outside the room that holds the router....
     
  14. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,912
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,912
    4,161
    708
    Illinois
    Try installing WiFi Analyzer. It has several functions including checking the strength of the WiFi signal you're connected to.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.farproc.wifi.analyzer
    As far as your TP-Link router, is it surrounded by anything? Things like metal cabinets can interfere with how the WiFi signals radiate out from the router's antenna. Also, using WiFi Analyzer check what other WiFi networks might be nearby, if they're using the same channel that your router is using that can cause the kind of interference where your range gets cut back like that. If that's the case try changing the channel of your router.
    http://lifehacker.com/5931743/top-10-ways-to-boost-your-home-wi-fi/1727784405
     
    codesplice likes this.
  15. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    my question is why only my device is behaving like that if the router has something to do with the problem.. I mean my home has 3 other mobile devices and they work perfectly fine no matter where they are being used... still i will check it out... :)
     
  16. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
  17. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,912
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,912
    4,161
    708
    Illinois
    Looking back at codesplice's comment, it could be something like a hardware issue. The S3 is came out in 2012 so it wouldn't be out of the ordinary for something to fail. I was just wondering about your router only because even though other devices are still working OK there might be something going on that your S3 is just marginally able to work with. Every phone/tablet has different components inside and some of those parts are better and some not. Have your tried booting up your S3 in Safe Mode and seeing how far it picks up your WiFi? At least that would eliminate anything you have installed recently that might be causing a problem.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  18. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,323
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,323
    3,340
    818
    Male
    Crdroid 12.1 is a CM13 based custom ROM that you are using correct? Can you install the backup of your stock rom and see if you have the same issues with wifi? It would help to determine if it is a hardware issue.
     
    svim and codesplice like this.
  19. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    i do not think it is a hardware issue because my device scans for the network all fine... the problem is the wifi is always shown as "saved" until and unless i move to the room where router is kept... and i do not think it is a routers issue because all other mobile phone connects just fine.. please help me out.. please... its really frustrating to be able to use wifi only when you are near the router....
     
  20. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,323
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,323
    3,340
    818
    Male
    Flash your stock firmware and see if you still have WiFi problems.
     
  21. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    the problem is with my custom firmware... but i would like to know if there is anyone who could make my custom firmware usable.. i mean is there any one who can build a flashable file that would rectify the problem related to WIFI??
     
  22. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,323
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,323
    3,340
    818
    Male
    You could contact the builder/maintainer of the ROM and see if they have a fix. I've checked on a few 6.0 roms for the S3 and haven't found a compdletely stable version yet. By stable I mean no bugs. I still have a few S3's, mostly i747's that I have 5.1 roms installed, SlimLP and CM 12.1 that work fine.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  23. Aamosh

    Aamosh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    14
    0
    25
    Male
    Could you please give me a link to CM12.1 because i could not find it on the internet and ended up using crdroid 12.1
     
  24. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,323
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,323
    3,340
    818
    Male
    codesplice likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...