1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support WiFi Problem?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GalaxyApollo, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. GalaxyApollo

    GalaxyApollo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    This problem is much different to the others as I can connect to any other network apart from my one and I usually can and I have tried forgetting the network and rewriting the code in and they were all CAPS etc etc.. Im just wondering if anyone else has had this problem otherwise I think I might need to get a new phone only after 8 months use..

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. arnold22

    arnold22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    91
    6
    16
    Ontario, Canada
    it sounds like more an issue with your router then your phone since you are able to connect to other wifi networks.
     
  3. GalaxyApollo

    GalaxyApollo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    But all my other phones and computers can connect without a breeze :/
     
  4. penpoint

    penpoint Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    7
    1
    26
    My phone was faultless until a new router was supplied a few days ago. Never had issue with one for wifi (only use it for phone as PC is wired). New router has fixed speed issue. My ISP tells me on phone that new routers have had negative feedback, so it would appear to be that. Not sure if it may be due to the new router being "n" type.
     
  5. penpoint

    penpoint Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    7
    1
    26
    Fixed :)
    Just thought I'd say I managed to fix this. From another forum it was suggested disable the 'n' capability of the router. The phone is supposed to be 802.11b/g/n just like the router, but there is clearly a problem that disabling 'n' fixes. It's not straightforward as one has to use telnet commands as in here Telnet Commands for a Thomson Router
     

Share This Page

Loading...