1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wifi Question...Should I leave it on all the time if I only have wifi at home?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrBigFeathers, May 8, 2010.

  1. MrBigFeathers

    MrBigFeathers Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    116
    3
    36
    Male
    Bay Area
    Hi,

    I know the Wifi uses less battery than the 3G. My question is should I leave the wifi on all the time if I only have Wifi at home? Will it be actively searching for a wifi signal when i am out of range of my home network and drain more battery? I have the Network notification unchecked in the wifi settings if that helps at all.

    Basically I just want to know if I should turn wifi off when I leave my house.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    might as well turn it off. it will have some effect on your battery ultimately. Or, grab an app like "Locale" that will turn it on and off automatically as you leave your hizzouse.
     
  3. sandman423

    sandman423 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    I like the locale idea but 9.99 is so expensive to make my phone drop wi-fi when I leave me my house.

    It would be nice to be able to have my phone turn off 3G when I get home and turn wi-fi on Automatically and when I leave my house it would turn 3G on and turn off my Wi-Fi
     
  4. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    i agree shut if off when you leave

    I also would love an app, cheaper than locale to do this. I have smart WIFI on my BB and it woks like a dream
     
  5. MrBigFeathers

    MrBigFeathers Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    116
    3
    36
    Male
    Bay Area
    Cool, thanks guys. I was hoping I could just leave it on all the time but if it will negatively affect the battery I will just turn it off when I'm not at home.
     
  6. dpphotos

    dpphotos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    12
    2
    16
    I know you said Locale was too expensive, but I did end up buying it for the exact reason you mentioned. I have to say I think it's worth every penny, not only do I have it controlling the wifi but also the pattern lock (unlocked at home, locked everywhere else) and also have my google voice forwarding to different numbers based on my location... clever stuff!
     
  7. DataSchmuck

    DataSchmuck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    39
    8
    36
    I tried Locale, but just wasn't satisfied with it.

    Tasker, on the other hand is perfect for me. It's still in beta so it's free, but man, it can do sooo much. Currently I have it set to:

    Home (within 30 meter radius of my apartment)
    -Turn on Wifi and flash message "WiFi ON"
    -Turn Off keyguard and flash message "Keyguard Off"
    -Set All volume levels to my taste
    -Display the message "Welcome Home"
    -Turn on Autosync
    -Turn On GPS and flash message "GPS ON"
    -Set screen shutoff time to 3 mins

    Not Home (outside my 30 meter radius)
    -Set different Volume Levels
    -Set Screen Shutoff to 1 min
    -Turn on Keyguard and flash message "Keyguard ON"
    -Turn Off WiFi and flash message "WiFi Off"
    -Turn Off Autosync
    -Turn On GPS and flash message "GPS ON"
    -Flash message "Out and About!"

    Plug in headset (Only time I will ever use headset is in my car)
    -Turn Off keyguard and flash message "Keyguard Off"
    -Turn Off WiFi and flash message "WiFi Off"
    -Set volume levels for media playback
    -Turn On GPS and flash message "GPS ON"
    -Pop Up a dialog asking whether I want "Music only" or "Navigation Mode"
    -If I choose Music Only, it then pops up a dialog asking me which music app I wish to run (Pandora, XiiaLive, or Btunes)
    -If I choose Navigation Mode, it Opens Google Maps, then immediately asks me which music app I wish to use. After I pick my music app and get my music playing, I back out of the music app till I'm back to google maps ready to choose my destination.
    -If I unplug the headset, it will close all my music apps, close navigation, do a check to see whether I am Home, or Out and about, and run the associated tasks

    Plug in usb AND headset
    -Never Turn off screen

    It also lets you create your own widgets which will run any tasks you want, so I made one for each of the above profiles just in case I need to switch manually

    Also made one called battery saver, clicking it will turn off auto sync, wifi, gps, set keyguard ON, and Set Screen shutoff time to 30 seconds. Like airplane mode but can still get calls and texts. It currently has no way to shut off Mobile Data, but does have APNdroid support

    This is just basic stuff, you can create variables, set conditions, run apps with option data. That requires a little more coding though.

    Wow, this came out longer than I thought, sorry. I've just spent so much time creating my customized tasks I guess I needed to brag about it.

    TLDR: Tasker is more customizable than Locale and it's free.

    Tasker for Android
    the download link is in the forums, no registration required
     
  8. trowpa

    trowpa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    81
    50
    33
    Wow! Tasker sounds very cool. Gotta check that out. Thanks for the info!
     
  9. ManLaw

    ManLaw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    40
    0
    15
    whats the point of wi fi if you have a data plan?
     
  10. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    How do you get the apk file for tasker? I went to the site but the download is a zip file and when unzipped there is no apk file to install.
     
  11. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
    its generally MUCH faster then G3, plus it works a lot of places G3 might not, like starbucks down in a subway system...

    you can also surf the web over Wifi while you make a phone call, not as good as AT&T, but it'll due till LTE comes out. (it's a CDMA restriction on G3)
     
    Tony Touch likes this.
  12. Todd M

    Todd M Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    271
    39
    63
    In the 712
    Y5 battery saver. It works very well in this area. If you are in a known area where you have Wi-Fi (home, work, etc) and you have that 'remembered' it turns on Wi-Fi and takes over 3G. When you leave that area, it shuts off Wi-Fi and 3G takes over.

    It's not as robust as Tasker (mentioned before) but it's totally free and works very well.
     
  13. stevewl

    stevewl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Can you use skype over wifi?
     
  14. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    reports say no you cant
     
  15. 4160-highvoltage

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Electrician
    East bay, California
    Tasker sounds good, a must try...thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...