1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi questions with new Evo...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidMax, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. AndroidMax

    AndroidMax Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    304
    60
    53
    Male
    I bought my Evo on release day at Radioshack. HW002. My lady loved it so much, she wanted to dump her iPhone and get one. Well, after calling BestBuy every day (5 stores her locally), and getting on the list at every Radioshack we could find, we finally got her one from RS. It took what, 5, 6 weeks? Whew! So, hers is a HW003. It came with everything except Froyo, which we immediately updated to. I find one thing very hard to swallow though... Her wi-fi radio receive is about 10-15dB stronger than mine. Sitting side by side, I pick up two wifi ssid's. The strongest is at -85dBm. She pickes up 5-6 wifis, the same one I get at -85dBm, she receives at -70dBm. She also sees another ssid on the same channel, at -90dBm that I have never received.

    I don't claim to be a wifi expert, but what do you think? Should I pester HTC for a warranty replacement?

    Opinions welcome.
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,132
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,132
    3,789
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    are you able to pick up wifi?

    can you log onto a wifi network and surf the internet?

    if you answer yes to those questions, then no you will not get a replacement EVO under warranty.
     
  3. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    One thing for certain: people's experiences with 2.2 upgrade vary from perfect to tons of problems. Maybe your upgrade was less than stellar, and you're not seeing the better wifi connectivity that froyo boasts.

    So... perhaps you should consider doing the factory reset and see if that gets you the SNR you're hoping for :) Check out the http://androidforums.com/support-troubleshooting-evo-4g/141369-how-fix-froyo.html thread.
     
  4. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    Are you on FroYo too?
     
  5. AndroidMax

    AndroidMax Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    304
    60
    53
    Male
    Yes, I can receive wi-fi and surf the internet. Yes, I am on Froyo. I think I'll take the phone to Sprint and let them do a test to see what they think. You never know.....
     
  6. eyeballer

    eyeballer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    53
    15
    38
    NYC
    That's probably the last thing I would do. Do the hard reset and see if that helps.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...