1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wifi server error

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dasto, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. dasto

    dasto Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Wifi is on; hotel server found; connected to hotel server; but where do I input the hotel server password? Browser just indicates server error.

    I also have my itouch with me and after it connects with hotel server, a sign-on screen comes up and I enter the server password.

    Can't get the Captivate to supply a sign-on screen. Is there some other way to enter the server password that was supplied to me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Try this: Menu/more/settings/wifi & networks. Now click on the hotel connection and a box should pop up. Enjoy free data complaments of your hotel.
     
  3. dasto

    dasto Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    JayC
    I select the hotel; no box pops-up, but it connects and shows connected; then I start the browser but when it tries to connect to a site it errors out stating a server error.
     
  4. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    You could try another browser such as Dolphin. Honestly though many of these log-on portal systems are horribly brain-dead and don't play well with anything but a PC running Windows (and sometimes going as far as requiring Internet Explorer).

    As it is, AT&T's own hotspot portals at Barnes & Noble won't work with the Captivate's browser.
     

Share This Page

Loading...