1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root WiFi tether DHCP server no worky?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by crazydog, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    240
    46
    43
    Student / Systems Analysis Assistant
    Flagstaff, AZ
    So I'm trying to use Wireless tether for the first time, but none of my devices seem to be able to pull an IP address and such from DHCP....they're all just getting 169 addresses.

    I only have two WiFi devices to test this on (laptop running windows 7 + iPhone), and they both have the same problem.

    Any suggestions? I've tried different ssids/channels/encryption on/off, access control on/off and I'm seeing no improvements.

    Wireless Tether also never lists the devices in the connected/authorized clients list.

    I installed the app that was provided with some of the root instructions, then updated to the version in the market.

    Here's my settings right now:

    Wifi Encryption is disabled
    SSID is Testing123
    Channel is 8
    Access Control is off
    LAN network is set to 192.168.3.0/24
    Client Notification is none
    Update check is on
    Wake lock is off
     

    Advertisement

  2. banshee2008

    banshee2008 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Try disabling any running applications that use WiFi of GPS. ShopSavvy is one application known to cause issues. I also found I was having trouble until turning off fring and Locale.
     
  3. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    240
    46
    43
    Student / Systems Analysis Assistant
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Hmm....I killed shopsavvy, and now my iPhone is asking for a username + password (username?) even with encryption off...I've yet to test it on the laptop.

    Well, reinstalled, and that went away.

    I killed everything, and hey lookie, it worked.
    Time to kill apps one by one...

    Yay, I guess good :p
    I killed these apps:
    skype
    shopsavvy
    mobile package tracker
    y5 battery saver

    in THAT order, and it worked

    I'm guessing it's y5....I'll edit this if I can narrow it down

    Yup. Y5 Battery saver did it. ShopSavvy doesn't seem to hurt anymore.
     

Share This Page

Loading...