1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

wifi tether lost

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by _taz_, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. _taz_

    _taz_ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I rooted my Epic with clockworks and had Barnacle tether working. I had to unroot my phone to get a screen replacement. I did odin back to stock using SPH-700-EC05-8gb-rel.tar

    got my phone back, used oneclickroot 3.0.2.5 to root again. installed barnacle and it starts up fine, my laptop gets an IP address and I can ping the gateway (the phone) but I can not ping the dns servers or anywhere else. so I can't get on the internet.

    I also tried the wifi tether app and got the same problem. any suggestions?
    (i am not opposed to trying a different rom as long as I can still use gps also)
    I was thinking about trying syndicate frozen

    Firmware
    2.2.1

    EC05 modem (tried ee03 and ef02 with same results)

    Kernel
    2.6.32.9

    Build Froyo.EC05

    Hardware
    D700.0.5
     

    Advertisement

  2. nstg8r

    nstg8r Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    279
    20
    38
    NY
    Try a different kernel like Twilightzone or Clean Kernel.
     
    _taz_ likes this.
  3. _taz_

    _taz_ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    tried gingerbread and wifi tether 3.0 pre14 and still no go
     
  4. _taz_

    _taz_ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    updated to ef02 modem and it works now.
     
  5. Gil1957

    Gil1957 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I upgraded to Gingerbread and my phone is EF02, but after the upgrade, my wifi tether would be found by my Xoom, but won't connect to the internet. It worked before when I had Froyo. I am using Wireless Tether 3.0-pre14. Any suggestions?

    Thank you
     
  6. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Looks like if you update to the EF02 Modem, you will be able to get it to work...
     

Share This Page

Loading...