1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wifi Tethering options

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jakbob, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. Jakbob

    Jakbob Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    48
    0
    35
    I just a few brief question about tethering.
    1. Can I password protect my droid like i could with a normal router? (WEP or something to that affect?) and

    2. will verizon notice extreme usage of bandwith on my data plan from tethering too much? Supposedly our data plans are limited to 5gb a month even though they say its 'unlimited'. I don't think I'll use it all that much because i'll only use it in the event that I really need it and have no wifi access.

    thank you! :)

    P.S Do you tether? How has your experience with it been?
     

    Advertisement

  2. meekrab

    meekrab Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    307
    9
    36
    biochemist
    RTP
    As far as security goes, you can use WEP 128 bit and/or access control based on mac address filtering.

    The data usage issue is a hot debate, but if you don't use much data, you shouldn't have anything to worry about.

    I have been using wifi tether frequently since December and it's been a joy to use. The app has come a long way and has gotten much better through time. What really strikes me is the ridiculous range when tethering. The longest I've tested is about 50 feet away in my apartment, separated by four walls, two stone fireplaces and a fridge, and there was hardly a noticeable loss in speed.
     
  3. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    668
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    668
    74
    78
    Yes. WEP is available.

    The data plan for the phone is not limited to 5gb. The official Verizon tethering plan is limited to 5gb. However, unofficial tethering like this is technically against the terms of service and they could chage you more if they wanted to. I don't think anyone has ever reported this happening to them though. As long as you just use it occasionally you shouldn't have a problem.

    I use it occasionally when I don't have any other way to get internet access on my computer and it works fine.
     
  4. toker11

    toker11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    211
    7
    36
    if im using the smoked glass 4.5 how can iIget wifi tethering?
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    From the AdamZ Smoked Glass 4.5 thread: in the first post, after you get the download for 4.5, underneath that is this:

    The Rest of the Downloads...

    Wireless Tether
    WEP Encryption, Access Control, and Faster Tethering Speeds...

    Code (Text):
    1. Attachment:
    2. File comment: Rename to .apk - Remove .zip
    3. Wireless Tether fixed by Berzerker
    4. Working WEP and Access Control
    5. This image is not loaded WifiTether.apk.zip [325.92 KiB]
    6. Downloaded 946 times
     
  6. toker11

    toker11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    211
    7
    36
    i just got them off his youtube videos...anyone have the link to this thread? ive done some searching and havent found anything...
     
  7. jeffyablon

    jeffyablon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Your "official" plan for Verizon Data on your device is unlimited; I've pushed Verizon pretty hard on the point; let's assume it's true.

    But in fact tethering is against the rules, and they could either terminate you or even charge you for the overage.

    The question, though, isn't about whether you use huge data, unless it's HUGE data. I use close to 5GB on my Droid every month without even using very much video, for example. That being true they aren't going to care if I use 7 or 8. Or probably even 10 or 12.

    The issue is whether they can tell you are tethering another device. In theory, they could if they can see your MAC Address. So the real question is whether your computer's MAC is getting passed through and is visible, or whether all they see is the MAC of your wireless device.

    And since the device is theirs, the answer lies in how your software for tethering works. Get familiar with that . . .

    Jeff Yablon
    The Computer Answer Guy

    Answer Guy on Droid

    Virtual VIP and Answer Guy on Twitter
     
  8. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    I'm trying to understand something about tethering....why would I need to tether my phone to my laptop if the laptop already has WiFi built in? What is it about the benefits of tethering that I am missing?
     
  9. Tymanthius

    Tymanthius Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    147
    1
    36
    BR, LA
    And if you are in the boonies with no inet, how do you get your laptop online? Youtether out, via wifi to your droid.

    Noter, if your laptop has a built in verizon cell broad band card.
     
  10. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    So this isn't Wifi, as in connecting to my Linksys router, it's OTA wifi? That's what I'd be hoping to gain from it.
     
  11. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,115
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,115
    13,041
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    The Droid acts like a router, but with built-in internet. Your laptop should detect the Droid as "Android Tether" along with your home router. Hope this helps.
     
  12. stedrocklp

    stedrocklp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    58
    6
    16
    Maine
    Its really an amazing app that I love. You can DL it here if you dont already have it. I do recomend using the password protection because you never know what the neighbors are doing. Also you need root access, I.E. you must be rooted, to have this work. They just released a new version 03/10.
     
  13. boycan

    boycan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    55
    1
    16
    I have root and have not changed any roms? Do I have to use another rom for this to work? I downloaded the tether app you linked and it seems to work, my PC sees it as Android tether and says it is connected but it won't open any pages? :thinking:
     
  14. stedrocklp

    stedrocklp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    58
    6
    16
    Maine
    Do you know what kernel you have with your ROM? Some support wifi tethering and some dont (which can be fixed). Also I have experienced sometimes the it takes a minute for it to actually start tethering after it is connected. Did your phone show the name of the computer in the status bar? Because it wont start tethering until it does. Lastly, does it show any data moved either up or down?
     
  15. boycan

    boycan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    55
    1
    16
    I don't know what rom I have no idea about kernal, haven't changed any so I guess it is stock 2.01? Droid did show my computer name in the status bar. It does show data being transfered, also I have Bitmeter installed on my PC and it also showed data being transfered but it wouldn't open any pages? Maybe I didn't give it enough time I will try again tomorrow night as I have to go to bed tonite :-/
     
  16. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,115
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,115
    13,041
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    UPDATE: Got it working. Great stuff! :D
     
  17. stedrocklp

    stedrocklp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    58
    6
    16
    Maine
    Great! Its an awesome app huh?
     
  18. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,115
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,115
    13,041
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Yeah what little I've played with it. I have wifi at home so it's kind of a standby thing for me. But it's nice to have :)
     
  19. naviathan

    naviathan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Computer Tech
    Eastern, NC, USA
    How's the bandwidth using this app?
     

Share This Page

Loading...