1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wifi

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by justdon, May 12, 2016.

  1. justdon

    justdon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    retired
    florida
    First off everyone iam not that tech savvy.So here goes I just got a Samsung s7 and I cannot get the wifi connection.I forgot my wifi password and I get an error message when I try to connect.I have tried everything I saw on you tube with no lck.What can I do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,486
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    You could reset your router and se up a new password.
     
    svim likes this.
  3. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,987
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,987
    3,019
    608
    Illinois
  4. justdon

    justdon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    retired
    florida
    When I right click on the icon I don't see run as administrator.I think tomorrow I will beg sprint to let me go back to my s5.If not iam stuck with the s7.Thank you so very much for your help everyone.As I said iam not tech savvy.
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,163
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,163
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    It won't matter what phone you have if you forgot your WiFi password. The S5 will still ask the password from you. It's not a matter of changing the phone.
     
    svim likes this.
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,987
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,987
    3,019
    608
    Illinois
    Ask a tech savvy friend over or pay someone but either way you won't be able to access your home WiFi network unless you obtain the password. If someone originally set it up for you and they didn't provide you with the passwords to a) log into the router's configuration menu and b) the SSID password to use your WiFi than you'd probably want to have it reset and reconfigured anyway so you do have the necessary infomation. If you just plugged it in and are using its default settings (very bad idea BTW) than there's a good chance the necessary info is printed on a label on the side or bottom of the router itself.
     
  7. ThePhizzle

    ThePhizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015

    Oct 4, 2015
    219
    61
    73
    Male
    Development
    Fresno,California
    You could just connect to your router by typing in its http:// in the search box and login as user:admin and under password:ppassword and select reset to default,it will reset the router to the default name and password thats on the side or bottom of the router box.
    Good health & Good luck to you.
     
  8. I_Like_Fire

    I_Like_Fire Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 16, 2016

    May 16, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    Woudn't it say the password on a sticker on the botom of the router?
     
  9. ThePhizzle

    ThePhizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015

    Oct 4, 2015
    219
    61
    73
    Male
    Development
    Fresno,California
    Yes,but I'm under the impression that he might have had someone assist him in the process and can not reach contact with that person,or he would have contacted that person and would had asked for a reminder of the password.
    This is just a way to access the router through a mobile device,mybe the person that set up the security accidentally put his S7 on the blocked list by accident?
     
    #9 ThePhizzle, May 16, 2016
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
  10. I_Like_Fire

    I_Like_Fire Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 16, 2016

    May 16, 2016
    12
    0
    15
    Male
  11. ThePhizzle

    ThePhizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015

    Oct 4, 2015
    219
    61
    73
    Male
    Development
    Fresno,California
    Did you try running the command without going into administrator mode?
     

Share This Page

Loading...