1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wifi?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by YelleLover, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. YelleLover

    YelleLover Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I see that my Android has Wifi. I leave it turned off all the time. So what's it's point? I already pay for a dataplan from Verizon, so I don't need it for the Internet. Is there anything I can use it for without paying extra?
     

    Advertisement

  2. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    If you have wireless internet at home or anywhere else, you can connect to it and browse the internet without using your data plan :)
     
  3. YelleLover

    YelleLover Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    But if I already have an unlimited data plan, it's useless? It doesn't matter if it is, I'm just curious.
     
  4. imwjl

    imwjl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    21
    2
    16
    Technology
    Older "unlimited" was a 5 GB cap and new plans with hot spot phones have 2 GB cap. I rarely exceed 600 MB a month with average use on my last phone but I'm an IT support professional and have months where I use much so WiFi is a help there. Disk images and a lot of podcast, video and music can add up.
     
  5. YelleLover

    YelleLover Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    The man at the verizon store said my unlimited really meant unlimited. Is there seriously a cap with the 29.99 unlimited data package you have to buy to have a Droid? I'm scared!

    EDIT: Now I'm confused. I did some furious googling only to find mixed results. Some sites swear that you have a 5 GB cap, whereas others insist that the cap is only for tethering, and that everything else is limitless. Any clarification? I've probably uses 1gb already, and it's my first day...
     
  6. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I dont worry about a data cap. There is no hard cap that they start charging for. They just monitor your connection for unauthorized tethering.

    3G is much slower. That's why i use wifi. Its noticeable if you have a decent internet connection at home.
     
  7. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Wifi is faster than 3G and if you have a constant wifi source, it is better on the battery.
     
  8. YelleLover

    YelleLover Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Okay, thank you. Is there a cap on the 29.99 data plan that Verizon sells? I don't actually know what tethering is, so I'm gonna say I'm not using it. I think it's supposed to be unlimited, but I need some confirmation form someone who isn't trying to sell it from me!
     
  9. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    There is no cap on VZW's data plans.
     
  10. tmattock23

    tmattock23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    *That likely won't be the case for too much longer.

    If you thought Verizon was immune to tiered data plans on its 3G network, think again. Verizon CEO Ivan Seidenberg told investors on Thursday that the company was preparing to roll out new plans within the next four to six months, with limits on different tiers depending on how much data customers want to use. This definitely looks like the future of 3G data pricing, though 4G plans will likely remain limitless
     
  11. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Like Demanche said, the cap is not an issue.

    Wifi is faster than then 3G, and 3G kills your battery. If I could go all day on wifi, I would.

    Welcome to the forum, btw:)
     
  12. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    That's pretty much how it is now if you have an 'unlimited plan'. However, if your data usage is around.... say... 4 gigs a month every month, Sprint's been known to send out warning letters or flag your account. I.E. don't tether your phone and use it to torrent movies all night every day. If you don't do that, I think you're pretty much set.

    The most I've used it 1.4gb in a month... of course, that was when I first got MusicJunk, so that's what was racking it up.
     
  13. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    WiFi is better on battery and 99% of the time, much faster.
     
  14. YelleLover

    YelleLover Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    So if I connect my phone to the wifi and access my network am I done or do I have to turn the three g off somehow?
     
  15. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    With wifi on your battery lasts much longer than if it was on 3G. I also use it at my school where I get no service inside any of the buildings.

    You don't need to mess with 3G once your wifi is turned on, that's done automatically. Once you're connected you're done.
     
  16. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    Most phones are set to automatically connect to the strongest available signal, which WiFi usually is over 3G.

    The reason the battery lasts better on WiFi is that connecting to a network uses battery, but once it's stable it uses a lot less. 3G networks are patchy, so your phone has to keep searching and tweaking to get the best signal.
    WiFi is generally a more consistant signal area so your phone doesn't need to work as hard to maintain the connection.
     
  17. YelleLover

    YelleLover Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    So can I just turn my wifi on and leave it on and it will automatically connect to It when it's available and g when it's not?
     
  18. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    Correct, although it will drain your battery fairly quickly with both on. Personally I keep them off and only turn them on when I need them.

    Your battery would still last the best part of a day though or longer, I'd say, it's not too much of an issue.
     
  19. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    I only turn wifi on at work and at home, places where i know I have wifi signal. I keep it off the rest of the time. No sense in having it on when on the road.
    It will also drain your battery since it's always looking for a network to connect to.

    And yes, wifi will override 3g. And if you walk away from the wifi signal, 3g will kick in.
     
  20. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Yeah pretty much line line with what everyone else says and does. Wifi at home and work as needed for Internet. Off at all other times.
    So illustrate the speed difference I present my own stats from my home where my signal is usually just 1 or 2 reception bars and my Internet speed is officially 8megs down and 1up [reality is its more like 20down and 1 up].
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    So thats why I use WiFi. 10x faster at home for me
     
  21. Archphoto

    Archphoto Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    One other reason for using WiFi is if you're roaming OS - the fees charged for roaming *anything* are ridiculous and the bill you'll get when you return home will make you wish you'd never used roaming to make calls, let alone access the interent via your telco. ;)
     
  22. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    I've never noticed much of a difference with battery life if I leave WiFi on.

    An app like Tasker can be used to automate toggling of WiFi if that's a concern though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...